Go to the U of M home page.

Diversity & Inclusion

Statement on Diversity

The University of Minnesota Law School is committed to fostering a legal system and a legal community that reflect the diversity of the broader society and embrace its varied perspectives. In addition to promoting diversity among its faculty and student body, the Law School strives to nurture a thoughtful and thought-provoking academic and extracurricular experience. By incorporating casework that addresses cultural, socioeconomic, and other diversity issues and by offering opportunities for open dialogue among the legal community, the Law School celebrates diversity and its important role in the legal structure and society. Diversity in viewpoint, experience, and background ensures the best possible service to clients of all cultures and ideologies; increases access to the courts and government; and enhances justice.

Diversity in the News

Nicole Starr (’03) Appointed Judge in Minnesota's Second District

Internship Opens Door To NASCAR: Program Provides Valuable Insight For Multicultural Students, Including Hakeem Onafowokan (’15)

Christopher Ortega (’16) Named Zelle Hofmann Diversity in Law Scholarship Recipient

Diversity Week 2014

U of M Receives Top Ranking as LGBT-Friendly Campus

Target Corporation Provides Funding for Diverse Law Student Scholarship

Phil Duran (’00) Elected Minnesota State Bar Association President

Leah Leyendecker (’15) Awarded 2013 Fredrikson & Byron Foundation Minority Scholarship

Ann Motl (’15) Awarded Fish & Richardson Diversity Fellowship

Diversity Week 2013 to Examine Dialogues About Diversity

Institute on Metropolitan Opportunity Releases Study on Racial Effects of Open Enrollment

MABL Foundation Awards Scholarships to Law School Students

Dean Erin Keyes (’00) Honored for Student Support by JTBF

Study Finds Racially Diverse Suburban Communities Growing Faster than White Suburbs but Resegregation Threatens Prosperity and Stability

Michael Ponto (’89) Chosen for Diversity in Business Award

Judge Toddrick Barnette (’92), Joseph T. Dixon Jr. (’69), Leslie M. Altman (’83) Receive HCBA Awards

Profs. Goodwin and Warren Speak on Racial Inequality in American Justice System

Prof. Carpenter Speaks on his Book Flagrant Conduct

Trayvon Martin and Beyond: A Forum on Race, Media, and Criminal Law

Flagrant Conduct by Professor Dale Carpenter Acclaimed in New York Times, New York Review of Books, New Yorker

Lisa Beane (’13) Named One of Six 2012 Diversity Scholars by Latham & Watkins

Mee Moua (’97) to Head Asian American Justice Center

In Black America Podcast: The Remarkable Journey of Alan C. Page (’78)

Kyle Thomas (’93) Named Director of Ramsey County Attorney Office's Civil Division

Luis Bartolomei (’94) Appointed to Fourth District Court

Minority Attorneys, Law Students Make Connections

MABL Foundation Awards Scholarships to Law School Students

Khary Hornsby (’05) Part of Governor Dayton’s Trade Mission to South Korea

B. Todd Jones (’83) Appointed Acting Director of ATF

Lyonel Norris (’83) Appointed to Fourth Judicial District Court

William Stock (’93) Elected Secretary of American Immigration Lawyers Association

RaShya Cunningham (’13) Wins 2011 Fredrikson and Byron Minority Scholarship

Lariss Jude (’12) Wins DRI Law Student Diversity Scholarship

Tara Houska (’12) Receives Native American Congressional Internship

Prof. Orfield Receives Grant to Advance Institute on Race & Poverty


We support DiscoverLaw.org, an LSAC-sponsored campaign to increase racial and ethnic diversity in legal education.