Go to the U of M home page.
e-Perspectives logo

Student News

EXCLUSIVE: American Constitution Society Named Student Chapter of the Week

The University of Minnesota Law School American Constitution Society was named Student Chapter of the Week on Jan. 21 by the national organization, which has student chapters at more than 180 law schools around the country.

EXCLUSIVE: RaShya Cunningham ('13) Reflects on First Semester at the Law School

EXCLUSIVE: RaShya Cunningham ('13) Reflects on First Semester at the Law School

RaShya Cunningham ('13), a recipient of the Earl Warren Scholarship from the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Legal Defense and Educational Fund (LDF), recently submitted a video diary to LDF describing her first semester at the Law School and her thoughts on her professors and classmates.

Human Rights Clinic Brief Cited by U.S. Court of Appeals Judges

An amicus curiae brief drafted by the Law School's Human Rights Litigation and International Legal Advocacy Clinic was cited by two circuit judges in a recent oral argument before the U.S. Court of Appeals of the District of Columbia. Prof. Fionnuala Ní Aoláin signed the brief, which was drafted by Prof. Jennifer Green as Counsel of Record and by student attorneys Astrid Brouillard ('12), Anne Fuchs ('12), James C. Horvath ('12), Melissa Muro Lamere ('12), Nathaniel Nesbitt ('11), Feras Sleiman ('12), and Leo Twiggs ('11).

Law School to Participate in John Paul Stevens Fellowship Program

The University of Minnesota Law School will participate in the John Paul Stevens Public Interest Fellowship program for the next five years. The program will, each year, provide two law students grants of $5,000 to support their work in summer public interest law positions.

Tyler Wiese ('11) Accepted for National Labor Relations Board Honors Program

Tyler Wiese ('11) Accepted for National Labor Relations Board Honors Program

University of Minnesota Law School 3L Tyler Wiese (’11) has been selected for the 2011 Honors Program of the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB), a highly competitive process limited to new lawyers. Selections are based on academic achievement, writing experience, relevant course work, moot court and clinic participation, and experience in labor and employment matters.

New Student Editors

The following journals have announced election results for the new 2011 editors, all in the class of 2012:

Law and Inequality: A Journal of Theory and Practice (Vol. 30)
Tennille McCray, editor-in-chief
Jennifer Singleton, executive editor

Minnesota Journal of International Law (Vol. 20, No. 2)
Charles Sutton, co-editor-in-chief
Jessamyn Tonry, co-editor-in-chief
Emma Phillips, executive editor

Minnesota Journal of Law, Science & Technology (Vol. 13)
Joseph Dammel, editor-in-chief
Michelle Mercer, executive editor

Minnesota Law Review (Vol. 96)
Matthew J.M. Pelikan, editor-in-chief
Nadia Aboussir, lead managing editor

1L Volunteers Find Inspiration in El Paso

1L Volunteers Find Inspiration in El Paso

Eight first-year students spent a week of their winter break volunteering at the Paso del Norte Civil Rights Project in El Paso. Representative comments: “It was incredibly rewarding because I was able to work on real problems affecting real people.” “It gave me a better understanding of how important each case is to each individual client.” The students will describe their experiences in the spring issue of Perspectives magazine.

Joint Degree Program Graduates First J.D./M.D. Candidate

Joint Degree Program Graduates First J.D./M.D. Candidate

The Joint Degree Program in Law, Health & the Life Sciences is pleased to announce the graduation of its first J.D./M.D. candidate, Lindsey Yock, who joined the Joint Degree Program in 2005. She completed her J.D., magna cum laude, with a concentration in health law and bioethics, and was admitted to the Minnesota Bar in 2008. She will complete her M.D. in May 2011. While a law student, she worked for Professor Susan M. Wolf and for U.S. District Court Judge Patrick J. Schiltz. Yock has won scholarships from the Law School, the Medical School and the Joint Degree Program. She served as a Note & Comment editor for the Minnesota Law Review in 2007-08 and as a staff member in 2006-07. Yock is an honors graduate of Harvard University, where she earned a B.A. in biochemistry.

Student Events

Federal Bar Chapter Holds Discussion on Pleading Standards After Iqbal

The Federal Bar Association Chapter of the Law School will hold a panel discussion entitled, “How Do You Plead? Civil Pleading Standards Two Years After Iqbal” on April 15, 2011, from 5:00-6:00 p.m. in the Lindquist & Vennum Conference Room at the Law School. The panelists will discuss the current pleading standard two years after the decision in Ashcroft et al. v. Iqbal et al. The panelists are James M. Rosenbaum (’69), retired U.S. District Court judge; Mark S. Olson (’76), partner at Oppenheimer Wolff & Donnelly LLP; Seth Leventhal, trial lawyer at Leventhal PLLC; and Suzette Malveaux, a professor at Catholic University of America Law School. Professor Brad Clary (’75) will moderate the discussion.

FBA Law Student Awards Ceremony

On April 27, 2011, the Law School will host a reception honoring this year's recipients of the Federal Bar Association (FBA) Scholarship Award. Each year, the Minnesota Chapter of the FBA, which consists of the U of M Law School, William Mitchell College of Law, Hamline University School of Law, and the University of St. Thomas School of Law, recognizes a graduating student at each school who has shown exceptional scholarship in the area of federal courts and federal practice. Mikka Gee Conway (’11) is this year's U of M Law School recipient. The awards will be presented by Judges Donovan W. Frank, Paul A. Magnuson, Ann D. Montgomery (’74) and John R. Tunheim (’80) of the U.S. District Court for the District of Minnesota.

Dean's Graduation Reception

On Friday, May 13, Dean Wippman and the law faculty invite students, along with their families and friends, to a reception in their honor. It will be held in Auerbauch Commons from 4:00-6:00 p.m. Please RSVP to lawevent@umn.edu.


The commencement venue has changed this year. Graduation celebrations will take place at Mariucci Arena, 1901 S.E. 4th St., Minneapolis due to the Northrop Auditorium renovation project.