Go to the U of M home page.


The Law School is one of few law schools that have student-edited, faculty-edited, and student- and faculty-edited scholarly journals, each of which has gained national prominence. Students can satisfy legal writing requirements and gain valuable legal writing experience by participating on a journal.

Student-Edited Journals

Law and Inequality: A Journal of Theory and Practice

Editor-in-Chief: Evan Gelles, gelle050@umn.edu
Faculty Advisor: June Carbone, Robina Chair in Law, Science and Technology
Submission Information

Minnesota Journal of International Law

Editor-in-Chief: Allison Don, donxx003@umn.edu
Faculty Advisor: David Weissbrodt, Regents Professor and Fredrikson & Byron Professor of Law
Submission Information

Minnesota Law Review

Editor-in-Chief: Karianne Jones, jone2529@umn.edu
Faculty advisor: Kristin E. Hickman, Harlan Albert Rogers Professor in Law
Submission Information

Faculty-Edited Journals

Constitutional Commentary

Lead Editor: Jill Hasday, Centennial Professor in Law and Solly Robins Distinguished Research Fellow
Faculty Editor: Dale Carpenter, Earl R. Larson Professor of Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Law
Faculty Editor: Heidi Kitrosser, Professor of Law
Book Reviews Editor: Brian Bix, Frederick W. Thomas Professor for the Interdisciplinary Study of Law and Language
Submission Information

Crime and Justice

Editor: Michael Tonry, McKnight Presidential Professor in Criminal Law and Policy
Submission Information

Faculty- and Student-Edited Journals

ABA Journal of Labor & Employment Law

Co-Editor: Stephen F. Befort, Gray, Plant, Mooty, Mooty, & Bennett Professor of Law
Co-Editor: Laura J. Cooper, J. Stewart and Mario Thomas McClendon Professor in Law and Alternative Dispute Resolution
Editor-in-Chief: Brittany Mitchell, mitch962@umn.edu
Submission Information

Minnesota Journal of Law, Science & Technology

Student Editor-in-Chief: Alison Key, keyxx025@umn.edu
Faculty Editor-in-Chief & Faculty Advisor: Ralph Hall, Professor of Practice
Faculty Advisor: Susan Wolf, McKnight Presidential Professor of Law, Medicine & Public Policy; Faegre Baker Daniels Professor of Law; Professor of Medicine
Submission Information

Centers & Institutes

Law School students have unique opportunities to explore worthwhile scholastic and community issues and to address challenges with real-world legal application. The research institutes, founded by faculty, make important contributions to legal scholarship and public policy research on a broad array of topics, from the environment to race and poverty. The Program in Law and History, established in 2007, connects students with scholars around the world to explore law in a historical context, fostering research and teaching across all periods of legal history.

Center for New Americans

Ben Casper, Director and Visiting Associate Clinical Professor of Law

Corporate Institute

David F. Fisher, Executive Director
John H. Matheson, Director and Law Alumni Distinguished Professor of Law
Kristin E. Hickman, Associate Director and Harlan Albert Rogers Professor in Law

Energy Transition Lab

Ellen Anderson, Executive Director
Hari Osofsky, Faculty Director and Professor of Law

Human Rights Center

David Weissbrodt, Co-Director and Regents Professor and Fredrikson & Byron Professor of Law
Kristi Rudelius-Palmer, Co-Director

Institute on Crime and Public Policy

Michael Tonry, McKnight Presidential Professor in Criminal Law and Policy

Institute for Law and Economics

Brett McDonnell, Director and Professor of Law
Francesco Parisi, Director and Oppenheimer Wolff and Donnelly Professor of Law
Claire A. Hill, Associate Director and James L. Krusemark Chair in Law

Institute for Law and Rationality

Claire A. Hill, Director and James L. Krusemark Chair in Law

Institute on Metropolitan Opportunity

Myron Orfield, Director and Professor of Law

Robina Institute of Criminal Law and Criminal Justice

Richard Frase, Co-Director and Benjamin N. Berger Professor in Criminal Law
Kevin Reitz, Co-Director and James Annenberg La Vea Land Grant Chair in Criminal Procedure Law

Program in Law and History

Susanna Blumenthal, Co-Director and Associate Professor of Law and History
Barbara Young Welke, Co-Director, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, and Professor of History and Professor of Law