Go to the U of M home page.

Home > McGee Moot Court > Past Results > 1997-1998

1997-1998 Competition Results

1997-1998 HIGHLIGHTS


Dean Sullivan with members of the 1998 first place Ohio State University, College of Law team, from left to right: Dean Sullivan, David Dreyfus, Christopher Hogan, Jonathan Mester and the Coach, Assistant Dean Robert Solomon, Ohio State also won Best Brief honors and Mr. Hogan was selected Best Oral Advocate.


The Thirteenth Annual University of Minnesota Law School National Civil Rights Moot Court Competition was held March 5 - 7, 1998 at the University of Minnesota Law School. Twenty-four teams representing the following law schools participated:

Albany Law School
University of Arkansas School of Law
Brooklyn Law School
Catholic University of America,
  Columbus School of Law
Detroit College of Law at Michigan State
Georgetown University Law Center
Hamline University School of Law
The John Marshall Law School
University of Minnesota Law School
State University of New York at Buffalo
  School of Law

New York Law School
New York University School of Law
North Carolina Central University
  School of Law
Ohio State University College of Law
Seattle University School of Law
Seton Hall University
University of Toledo
Wayne State University Law School
Whittier Law School
University of Wisconsin

The winner of the competition was Ohio State University, with New York Law School placing second. Ohio State University also won Best Brief honors and one of its team members, Christopher Hogan, was named Best Oral Advocate.

The teams briefed and argued Brzonkala v. Virginia Polytechnic and State University, 132 F. 3d 949 (4th Cir.1997), a case in which a female student who was raped by two members of a college football team sued the football players under the federal Violence Against Women Act asserting that the rapes were motivated by her assailants' discriminatory animus toward women. The case was argued as if certiorari had been granted by the United States Supreme Court. The question addressed was whether the civil rights remedy of the Violence Against Women Act is constitutional under the Commerce Clause or Section 5 of the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment?

Justices Esther Tomljanovich, Edward C. Stringer and Sandra S. Gardebring of the Minnesota Supreme Court, Chief Judge Edward Toussaint, Jr., Minnesota Court of Appeals and Judge Solomon Oliver, Jr., United States District Court, Northern Ohio presided over the final argument before a near capacity audience in Lockhart Hall.


Dean Sullivan with members of the 1998 second place New York Law School team, from left to right: Dean Sullivan, Stacy Matthews, George Shockey, Shereen Rizk Youssef and Coach Robert Scott DeLuca.