Go to the U of M home page.

Home > McGee Moot Court > Past Results > 1995-1996

1995-1996 Competition Results

1995-1996 HIGHLIGHTS

The Eleventh Annual University of Minnesota Law School National Civil Rights Moot Court National Competition was held March 7 - 9, 1996 at the University of Minnesota Law School. Seventeen teams represented the following law schools:

Brigham Young University
Brooklyn Law School
Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
Columbus School of Law/Catholic Univ.
Detroit College of Law at Michigan University
Georgetown University School of Law
Hamline University School of Law
John Marshall Law School
New York Law School
New York University School of Law
Seton Hall University School of Law
University of Minnesota Law School
Wayne State University Law School

The overall winner of the competition was the Brooklyn Law School team consisting of Kelley Swift, Michelle Gieri and David Mensky. The New York Law School team consisting of Alex Jeffery, Steven Nahley and Jennifer Schuster placed second. The best brief was awarded to Seton Hall University School of Law Team No. 1 consisting of Christine Haberle, Susan Hutnik and Larissa Isajiw, and the best oral advocate award went to Michelle Gieri of Brooklyn Law School.

The teams briefed and argued William E. Kirwan, et al., v. Daniel J. Podberesky, 38 F.3d 147 (4th Cir. 1994) a case concerning whether the refusal to consider a white student for a black student scholarship program adopted by the state of Maryland to desegregate its institutions of higher education constituted a violation of his civil rights under the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution and Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

Justice Esther Tomljanovich of the Minnesota Supreme Court, Justice John E. Simonett of the Minnesota Supreme Court (retired and Judge LaJune Thomas Lange of the Minnesota District Court of the Fourth Judicial District presided over the final argument in Lockhart Hall.