Go to the U of M home page.

Student Awards Ceremony Begins
2009 Graduation Weekend Events

Student volunteers in the Law School Public Service Program

The Class of 2009 student volunteers in the Law School Public Service Program, coordinated
in conjunction with the Minnesota Justice Foundation


May 19, 2009—The Law School welcomed graduates and their families for the 2009 Student Awards Ceremony, held at 3 p.m. May 15 in Lockhart Hall. The event acknowledged outstanding student achievement among those in the Class of 2009, prior to the May 16 Commencement.

The Law School Public Service Program

Among this year's graduation class, 136 students participated in the Public Service Program, one of the Law School's hallmarks. The program, in collaboration with the Minnesota Justice Foundation, the Minnesota Bar Association, and more than 40 legal service providers, challenges law students to contribute at least 50 hours of law-related public service during their study years.

At least 45% of the program participants (61 students) met or exceeded the 50-hour challenge, amassing 10,241 hours of volunteer legal services as a class, noted Janine Laird, executive director of the Minnesota Justice Foundation. One student, Mao Lin, contributed an astounding 700+ hours of public service while participating in the program.

Additional student awards and honors

American Bankruptcy Institute 2009 Medal of Excellence:

Mark S. Creer

American Bar Association and the Bureau of National Affairs Award for Excellence in Health Law:

Lindsey J. Hopper

American Bar Association and the Bureau of National Affairs Award for Excellence in Labor and Employment Law:

Natalie Woodward Kohner

American Law Institute/American Bar Association Scholarship & Leadership Award:

Stacy Marie Lindstedt, Justin McCarthy

Steven M. Block Prize:

Claire Bernice Holmgren Deason

Sidney J. Kaplan Legal Scholarship Fund:

Kyle W. Brenton

Ralph M. McCareins Antitrust Prize:

Amba M. Datta

Minnesota Journal of Law, Science & Technology Outstanding Editor Award:

Daniel Reynolds

Mondale Hall Engagement Award:

Zainab Sakina Akbar, Amanda Lyons, Todd E. R. Strom, Anne Hoyt Taff

National Association of Women Lawyers Award:

Elizabeth Canney Borer

Matt Stark Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Student Award:

Gilbert A. Castro

University of Minnesota Human Rights Law Award:

Karen J. Anderson

Festivities and memories

The reception following the ceremony was so well attended(more than 400 celebrated) that the festivities encompassed Auerbach Commons and the Dorsey Foyer, and spilled out onto Stein Terrace. As extra entertainment, the Law School showed a graduation DVD containing photos submitted by students, comments from faculty, clips of law student theatre productions, and other images echoing events and good times from the last three years.

As a gift, the Law School gave each graduate a copy of the DVD and a business card holder at the Commencement ceremonies on May 16.