Go to the U of M home page.

Home > News & Events > More News

Law School News

for May, 2014

Former State Senator Ellen Anderson ('86) to Head New Energy Transition Lab at the University of Minnesota

May 27, 2014

Our energy system is in the midst of a major transition. Our power sources are shifting from coal to more natural gas and renewables. We need to upgrade our aging grid to accommodate those new sources. As our grid becomes "smarter," we need it to be responsive and reliable. And new greenhouse gas emissions regulations and the need to make our grid resilient as the climate changes add further complexities.

Law School Honors Class of 2014 at 126th Commencement Exercises

May 20, 2014

The University of Minnesota Law School held its 126th commencement ceremony May 17 at the newly renovated Northrop Memorial Auditorium. Law School Dean David Wippman welcomed the Class of 2014, their families and friends, and several special guests: University of Minnesota Regent David McMillan ('87), executive vice president of Minnesota Power; Arlene Carney, the University's vice provost for faculty and academic affairs; and the keynote speaker, United States Secretary of Labor Thomas E. Perez.

Class of 2014 Students Honored at Awards Ceremony

May 19, 2014

The Law School welcomed graduates and their families for the 2014 Student Awards and Recognition Ceremony, held at 2:00 p.m., May 16 in Lockhart Hall. The event acknowledged outstanding student achievement among those in the Class of 2014, prior to the May 17 Commencement.

Prof. Paul Vaaler Named to Mooty Chair in Law and Business

May 14, 2014

Prof. Paul Vaaler, a member of the faculty of the University of Minnesota's Carlson School of Management, has been named the inaugural holder of the John and Bruce Mooty Chair in Law and Business. The appointment is made jointly by the Law School and the Carlson School, and as holder of the chair, Vaaler's principal responsibility will be to foster collaboration between the two institutions and to conduct research and teaching at the intersection of law and business.

William Schumacher ('14) Wins Distinguished Student Award from the American College of Bankruptcy

May 14, 2014

The American College of Bankruptcy (ACB) has named its Distinguished Law Students for 2014, and Law School student William Schumacher ('14) is one of just five selected nationally for the year. Schumacher, who is a CPA as well as a soon-to-be J.D., received the honor at an event held earlier this spring at the Smithsonian's American Art and Portraiture Museum in Washington, D.C.

Two Law School Students Win Honors from Minnesota Women Lawyers

May 12, 2014

Two students at the Law School—Brittany Mitchell ('15) and Joanna Dobson ('16)—will be among those recognized by Minnesota Women Lawyers (MWL) at the group's 42nd annual meeting on May 19. Mitchell has been named the winner of MWL's 2014 Equal Justice Award, while Dobson was selected to receive an MWL Law Student Scholarship.

Former Humphrey Fellow Dana Seetahal Killed in Trinidad

May 9, 2014

The International Fellowship Programs at the Humphrey School of Public Affairs and the Human Rights Center at the University of Minnesota Law School express their sincere condolences to the family and friends of Senior Counsel Dana Seetahal of Trinidad and Tobago. On May 4, Seetahal was gunned down while driving in the vicinity of the Woodbrook Youth Club in Port of Spain, Trinidad, the victim of an apparent political assassination.

Prof. Fred Morrison Receives 2014 Outstanding Service to University Senate Governance Award

May 9, 2014

Prof. Fred Morrison, who began teaching at the Law School in 1969 and has been involved in faculty governance throughout his career at the University of Minnesota, has been honored with a 2014 Outstanding Service to University Senate Governance Award. The award, which recognizes individuals "who have made a significant impact on University Senate governance, have demonstrated a longstanding commitment to University Senate governance"—specifically, a minimum of eight years' service—"and have served as an inspiration to others," was presented at the Senate's May 1 meeting.