Go to the U of M home page.

Home > News & Events > More News

Law School News

for January, 2011

Prof. Goodwin to Chair AALS Committee to Review Scholarly Papers

January 31, 2011

Michael A. Olivas, President of the Association of American Law Schools (AALS), has selected Professor Michele Goodwin to Chair the Committee to Review Scholarly Papers for the Annual Meeting. Goodwin will serve as chair for a two-year term, through the end of the 2013 Annual Meeting.

U of M Human Rights Center to Launch Islamic Law and Human Rights Program

January 28, 2011

The University of Minnesota Law School's Human Rights Center will launch its Islamic Law and Human Rights Program (IHRP) on Friday, Feb. 4. Opening ceremonies will be held from 3 to 4:40 p.m. in Room 25 of Mondale Hall, 229 19th Ave. S., Minneapolis.

Interdisciplinary Scholar Christopher Roberts Joins Law School Faculty

January 18, 2011

Christopher N.J. Roberts, who recently completed the joint doctoral program in public policy and sociology at the University of Michigan, will join the Law School faculty May, 2011, as an associate professor.

Prof. Stein Appointed to IBA and CEELI Groups

January 18, 2011

Everett Fraser Professor of Law Robert A. Stein ('61), a leading expert on the rule of law, was appointed to two new positions beginning with the new year.

Prof. Welke Named a Scholar of the College in the College of Liberal Arts

January 14, 2011

Barbara Y. Welke, a University of Minnesota professor of law and professor of history, has been named as a Scholar of the College in the College of Liberal Arts for the three year period 2011-12 through 2013-14.

Michael Rothman (’88) Appointed Minn. Commerce Commissioner

January 6, 2011

Michael J. Rothman (’88) has been named Minnesota’s Commissioner of Commerce by Gov. Mark Dayton and will assume his new responsibilities on Jan. 12, 2011. In a news release announcing the appointment, Dayton said he has charged Rothman with “restoring a consumer response and protection ethic to the agency, and to making it again a consistent and responsible regulator of business practices.”

Prof. Hickman Named Runner-Up for Tax Notes 2010 Person of the Year

January 5, 2011

Professor Kristin Hickman has been named a runner-up for the 2010 Person of the Year by the national publication Tax Notes. The selection is made from among ten finalists who have most influenced the year’s tax-related events.

Paige Donnelly (’59) Receives Lifetime Achievement Award from Minn. Assoc. for Justice

January 4, 2011

Paige J. Donnelly (’59) was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Minnesota Association for Justice at its annual 2010 convention in Alexandria, Minn. The prestigious award is bestowed only occasionally, to individuals who exemplify the pursuit of justice over a lifetime of legal work.

Prof. Simon Receives MCAA’s New Traffic Safety Award

January 3, 2011

On Dec. 9, 2010, at the 33rd annual meeting of the Minnesota County Attorneys Association (MCAA) in Bloomington, Minn., Clinical Professor Stephen Simon was the first recipient of a newly established award: the annual MCAA Traffic Safety Award.