Go to the U of M home page.

Professor Befort ('74) elected as a Fellow of the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers

JUNE 21, 2010—The College of Labor and Employment Lawyers has elected Prof. Stephen Befort ('74) to its 2010 Class of Fellows. The College of Labor and Employment Lawyers, founded in 1995, strives to promote and recognize excellence and professionalism in the field, including dispute resolution, arbitration, employer/employee conflict management and union-related negotiations. Fellows are elected annually from across the United States and Canada in recognition of their professional integrity and their outstanding contributions to the field of labor law.

Befort, who is the Gray, Plant, Mooty, Mooty, & Bennett Professor of Law, teaches courses on labor law, employment law, workplace discrimination, public employment, disability in the workplace, and alternative dispute resolution. He is a member of the National Academy of Arbitrators and a past Chair of the Minnesota State Bar Association Labor and Employment Law Section. He also serves as a co-editor of The Labor Lawyer, a publication of the American Bar Association’s Section of Labor and Employment Law.

Befort will become the Law School faculty's second Fellow in the College, joining his colleague Prof. Laura J. Cooper. This year's Class of Fellows also includes another Law School graduate, Mary E. Stumo ('80), of Minneapolis.

The inductees will be honored at the College's 15th Annual Induction Dinner in Chicago on Nov. 6.

Portrait of Professor Stephen Befort

Read Professor
Befort's Bio