Go to the U of M home page.

Bridget Ahmann (’85) and Joseph Price (’72) Win Law Firm Legal Writing Burton Award

MAY 9, 2012—Alumni Bridget Ahmann (’85) and Joseph Price (’72), along with their Faegre Baker Daniels colleagues Jennifer Dukart and Denise Kettelberger, received a 2012 Burton Award for Legal Achievement in the law firm legal writing category for their article "We're Not in Kansas Anymore, Toto: Product Liability Biologics and Biosimilars."

The article, published in the August 2011 issue of For the Defense, examines the product liability implications of the Biologics Price Competition and Innovation Act passed by Congress in 2010. The act established an abbreviated pathway for FDA approval of "biosimilars," products often regarded as generic forms of biologic therapeutic products.

The 2012 law firm Burton award is the second for both Ahmann and Price. Ahmann and associate Erin Verneris won the award in 2010, and Price and colleague Peter Goss won in 2002. Philip S. Garon (’72) is also a two-time winner: in 2001 and, along with Michael A. Stanchfield and Law School Professor John Matheson, in 2007. Law firm entries must be nominated by a managing partner where the authors are employed, and all of the Burton award winners were nominated by Faegre partners.

When the first Burton awards were presented in 2000, nominations were accepted from managing partners at the 250 largest U.S. law firms, and 12 law firms received awards. With the program's growth, nominations now are accepted from the top 1,000 law firms, and 35 law firms received awards in 2012.

The recent wins bring the Law School's total of prestigious Burton Awards for Legal Achievement to 15 since the program's inception.

Phillip Walters (’12) became the seventh Law School student to receive the Burton award for legal writing in the law school category with his 2012 win. Two alumni have received the Legends in the Law Award for outstanding corporate general counsel: James J. Bender (’81) in 2009 and James T. Hale (’65) in 2007. And in 2007 the Law School received the Record of Distinction Award for its multiple wins in the Burton program.


Bridget Ahmann

Bridget Ahmann (’85)


Joseph Price

Joseph Price (’72)