Go to the U of M home page.

Catharine Haukedahl (’79) to Receive MSBA Graven Public Service Award

APRIL 9, 2012—Catharine F. Haukedahl (’79), a member of the Law School's Board of Advisors, has been selected to receive the 2012 Minnesota State Bar Association (MSBA) David Graven Public Service Award, given to the lawyer who best exemplifies high professional standards and a commitment to public or community service. She will accept the award at the April 26, 2012, MSBA meeting.

In February 2011, Haukedahl was named the new executive director of Mid-Minnesota Legal Assistance (MMLA), a legal aid program that serves Hennepin and 19 additional counties in central Minnesota. It provides professional civil legal assistance to Minnesotans who lack access to the justice system, including low-income populations, the elderly, those with disabilities, and immigrants. Haukedahl also manages the Minnesota Disability Law Center, the Legal Services Advocacy Project, and the Minnesota State Support Center.

Previously, Haukedahl was MMLA Deputy Director for the Legal Aid Society of Minneapolis for eight years. Before joining MMLA, she was Assistant Attorney General and Solicitor General in the Minnesota Attorney General's office, in charge of six litigation divisions and involved in advocating with the Minnesota legislature on policy issues related to sexual violence against women. She also was a partner at Felhaber, Larson, Fenlon & Vogt in Minneapolis, practicing employment and commercial law.

On May 8, 2012, Haukedahl will host the 31st annual Law Day Testimonial Dinner, sponsored by the Fund for the Legal Aid Society and the Hennepin County Bar Association. Retired Minnesota Supreme Court Chief Justice Kathleen Blatz (’84) is the featured guest and will be honored with a testimonial from Minnesota Supreme Court Associate Justice Alan Page (’78). The event raises money to provide legal services to thousands through government grants and law firm and personal philanthropy.

The Graven Award was established in 1994 to encourage and recognize public service among lawyers. Previous Law School recipients include Richard Beens (’68), Judge Kevin Burke (’75), Judge Edward Cleary (’77), Leonard Lindquist (’39), Henry Savelkoul (’65), and Judge John Tunheim (’80).


Catharine Haukedahl

Catharine Haukedahl (’79)