Go to the U of M home page.

Professor Clary named to Minnesota Supreme Court Advisory Committee

JULY 21, 2008—Bradley G. Clary ('75), a clinical professor and the Director of Applied Legal Instruction at the University of Minnesota Law School, has been named to the Minnesota Supreme Court Advisory Committee on the Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure.

In a letter from Associate Justice G. Barry Anderson ('79) dated July 10, 2008, Clary learned that he had been appointed by Chief Justice Eric J. Magnuson to a three-year term on the Committee beginning July 1, 2008.

Among Clary's responsibilities at the Law School are coordinating basic trial advocacy programs, serving as a faculty advisor to the National Moot Court team, and teaching appellate advocacy and civil procedure.

The Minnesota Supreme Court selects from among experienced lawyers and judges on the basis of expertise to achieve an Advisory Committee with a diversity of legal and practice perspectives. The Committee is charged with reviewing and potentially modifying the Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure, which govern Supreme Court and Court of Appeals procedure in civil appeals and certain criminal appeals; review of orders of administrative agencies, boards, and commissions; and other civil proceedings.

The Honorable Jill Flaskamp Halbrooks, a judge on the Minnesota Court of Appeals, will chair the Committee and has also been appointed for a three-year term. Others serving for three years are: Brad Delapena of St. Paul; Diane B. Bratvold ('87), Gary A. Debele ('87), David Herr (Reporter), and Bruce Jones ('85) of Minneapolis; and Law School Adjunct Professor Gregory R. Solum of Edina.

Receiving two-year appointments are: Scott Buhler ('88) of Crookston; Kay Nord Hunt, Timothy J. Pramas ('93), and James S. Simonson of Minneapolis; and C. David Dietz, Cynthia L. Lehr, and Law School Adjunct Professor Roy G. Spurbeck of St. Paul.

Appointed for one-year terms are: Jill I. Frieders ('80) of Rochester; Erik F. Hansen ('00) of Eden Prairie; the Honorable Kurt D. Johnson of Mankato; Paula D. Vraa of St. Paul; and Thomas C. Atmore ('88), Rita Coyle DeMeules, and David T. Schultz of Minneapolis.

Supreme Court Commissioner Richard Slowes and Clerk of the Appellate Courts Frederick K. Grittner ('76) have been appointed ex officio members.

The first Committee meeting is August 6 at the Minnesota Judicial Center, St. Paul.


Brad Clary

Read Professor
Bradley G. Clary's Bio