Go to the U of M home page.

Law School Fiscal Year Ends Strong, Sets Alumni Giving Record

JULY 23, 2008—With a record high number of alumni participating and a tremendous leadership gift of $100,000 by Vance Opperman ('69), President and CEO of Key Investment Inc., the Law School's Partners In Excellence annual fund set a new record in the 2007-08 fiscal year: Alumni and friends contributed $805,570, a 41% increase over the previous year. With only 6% of the Law School's operating budget coming from the state, the Partners in Excellence annual fund supplements endowment income and tuition revenue, offering critical support for core programs and providing flexibility to take advantage of opportunities that arise throughout the year.

The Law School thanks 2007-08 Partners in Excellence National Chair James J. Bender ('81) for leading the annual fund campaign. In addition to his National Chair duties, Jim serves the Law School as a director of the Law Alumni Board, helps the Admissions office to recruit students, and found the time and resources to spearhead, with Gary Haugen ('74), creation of the Judge Donald Alsop Scholarship last fall.

Membership in the Law School's leadership annual giving society, the Lockhart Club, has grown by 49%, from 213 to 318 members. Created in 1973, the Lockhart Club originally required a gift contribution of $500, which subsequently increased to $1,000. Beginning July 1, 2008, the requirement increased to $2,000, which reflects the need for increased commitments from alumni and friends to keep the Law School competitive. The Law School is grateful to supporters who increased their gift and joined the Lockhart Club at the new level, even before the requirement became official!

Overall, alumni and friends invested almost $5.5 million in the Law School in 2007-08, a 230% increase over the previous fiscal year. Thanks to all whose contributions helped ensure the continued success of Minnesota's great public law school.

James J. Bender

James J. Bender ('81)
2007-2008 Partners in Excellence National Chair

Vance Opperman

Vance Opperman ('69)