Go to the U of M home page.

Professor Howland Selected for President’s Award

MAY 10, 2010—Professor Joan S. Howland was one of 12 individuals chosen from across the University of Minnesota to receive the 2010 President’s Award for Outstanding Service, University President Robert H. Bruininks announced today.

"Joan's leadership of the library and her service to the Law School and the University community have been exemplary," said Law School Dean David Wippman. "The award is a richly deserved recognition of Joan's many contributions."

Howland joined the Law School in 1992 and holds its Roger F. Noreen chair in law, is Associate Dean for Information and Technology, and is director of the Law Library. She has served on and chaired numerous library and association committees, and in 2003, she received the Spirit of Law Librarianship Award for her extensive volunteer efforts with legal aid programs serving American Indians living in traditional communities.

The annual President's Award for Outstanding Service was established in 1997 to recognize exceptional commitment to the University community and service well beyond the recipient’s regular duties to the University, its schools, colleges, departments, and service units. It is open to any active or retired faculty or staff member nominated by an alumnus or current member of the faculty or staff.

Also receiving the 2010 award were two individuals from the Morris campus, one from the Crookston campus, one from the Duluth campus, one from the Carlson School of Management, and six from the Minneapolis and St. Paul campuses. "The credit they bring to the University of Minnesota is simply beyond measure," President Bruininks said in his email announcement.

Among previous recipients of the award are Professor Carol Chomsky and Director of Curriculum Development Debbie Nelson in 2006 and Professor Fred Morrison in 1997.

Portrait of Professor Howland

Read Professor
Howland's Bio