Go to the U of M home page.

Minn. Supreme Court Task Force to Evaluate Civil Justice Reform

DECEMBER 6, 2010—Law School Clinical Professor Brad Clary ('75) and adjunct faculty members the Hon. Jerome Abrams, Timothy J. Pramas ('93), and the Hon. Denise Reilly are among the members of a new task force, appointed by the Minnesota Supreme Court to provide recommendations toward improving the state's civil case processing.

The Civil Justice Reform Task Force is charged with evaluation and follow-up of the findings of a report issued by the Civil Justice Forum. The forum was established in 2009 by then–Chief Justice Eric Magnuson to examine civil case processing statutes, court rules, and practices, and to identify changes in the civil justice system that have the potential to increase cost-effectiveness and efficiency. The forum reviewed several initiatives, both within and outside the court's jurisdiction, gave them rankings, and recommended more thorough study of the possible effect on litigants and civil case processing.

The Hon. Louise Bjorkman ('85) chairs the task force, and the Hon. Christopher Dietzen is its liaison with the court. Its final report to the Supreme Court is due by Dec. 31, 2011.

Included on the task force are the Hon. Robert Awsumb, Jeanette Bazis ('92), Kathryn Bergstrom ('91), Gregory Bulinski ('79), James Carey, Sue Dosal, Dyan Ebert, Meredith Erickson, Katherine Flom, Ernest Grumbles, Mark Hallberg, David Herr, Daniel Heuel ('78), the Hon. Eric Hylden ('87), Anna Lamb, Thomas Marshall, the Hon. Susan Miles, Jessie Nicolson, Richard Pemberton ('57), Douglas R. Peterson, Susan Segal, Christopher Shaheen, and Clay Taylor.


Bradley G. Clary

Read Professor
Clary's Bio