Go to the U of M home page.

Minnesota Lawyer Recognizes Prof. Stein, Other Alumni

DECEMBER 14, 2009—Robert A. Stein ('61), the Law School's Everett Fraser Professor of Law and of counsel with Gray Plant Mooty, has been selected to receive the 2009 Outstanding Service to the Profession Award from Minnesota Lawyer.

Stein was chosen "for taking on the presidency of the Uniform Law Commission [ULC] and other leadership roles throughout his career, including serving as dean of the U of M Law School and as executive director of the American Bar Association," the award announcement says.

Stein joined the Law School faculty in 1964 and served as dean from 1979-94. From 1994-2006, he was the executive director and COO of the American Bar Association. He rejoined the faculty in 2006 and in August 2009 was elected president of the ULC. Stein has been an active member of the ULC since 1973 and served on numerous committees. Recently, he led creation of a new committee on federalism and state law.

The Outstanding Service award, first presented in 2007, recognizes individuals and groups that have worked consistently over the years to enhance the legal profession and the lives of those it serves. The five individuals honored with the 2009 award are "pillars of the Minnesota legal community," says Minnesota Lawyer Editor-in-Chief Mark A. Cohen, and have been "models of service."

Other Outstanding Service honorees are Larry Buxbaum, Executive Director of the Hennepin County Bar Association; Barbara Golden, retired state law librarian; Paul A. Melchert, a partner with Melchert Hubert Sjodin; and William J. Wernz, a partner with Dorsey & Whitney.

Minnesota Lawyer also selected 26 individuals to receive its Attorney of the Year award. Presented since 1999, the award goes to Minnesota attorneys who have distinguished themselves through "leadership in the profession, involvement in major cases or other newsworthy events, excellence in corporate or transactional services and public service."

Four Law School alumni are among the 2009 Attorney of the Year award recipients.

Assistant U.S. attorneys John F. Docherty ('86) and Timothy C. Rank ('93), along with colleagues Joseph T. Dixon and John R. Marti, were selected for prosecuting the largest fraud case in Minnesota history, the Tom Petters case.

Joan Bibelhausen ('83), Executive Director of Minnesota Lawyers Concerned for Lawyers, was chosen for her leadership in assisting lawyers with stress and life-balance issues.

Richard T. Ostlund ('82) of Anthony Ostlund Baer & Louwagie was recognized for a $73 million recovery in a residential-complex development case.

Minnesota Lawyer will profile award recipients in a special supplement and will honor them at a dinner celebration on Feb. 18, 2010. For dinner reservations and information, contact Tom Misener at 612-337-4471 or tom.misener@dolanmedia.com.

Minnesota Lawyer is an independent publication dedicated to reporting on the practice of law in Minnesota. For more about Outstanding Service to the Profession and Attorney of the Year awards, go to www.minnlawyer.com.

Portrait of Professor Robert Stein

Read Professor
Stein's Bio.