Go to the U of M home page.

Strong Competitors Argue McGee Moot Court Case

MARCH 4, 2008 — If the Law School hallways seem a bit quiet and empty, it's because last week's Moot Court competitors, clustered in various corners to whisper over their strategies, have gone home. The 23rd Annual William E. McGee National Civil Rights Moot Court Competition, held February 28 and 29 and March 1, 2008, drew submissions of briefs and oral arguments from 40 teams representing 26 law schools nationwide.

Top honors went to the University of Detroit Mercy School of Law. Its two teams took first and second place in the competition.

Team 1 of the Southern Illinois University School of Law won Best Brief honors and came in third, while Team 1 of the University of Wisconsin Law School finished fourth.

Clinton Hubbell, a member of Team 1 of the University of Detroit Mercy School of Law, won the Best Oral Advocate Overall award. Robert Harvey, a member of Team 2 of the Southern Illinois University School of Law, won Best Oral Advocate of the Preliminary Rounds. Honorable mentions went to Rachel Redfern, George Mason University School of Law, and Clinton Hubbell.

This year's case, an appeal from the Louisiana Supreme Court, considered the impact of race in the jury-selection process. The case (State v. Snyder), currently pending before the U.S. Supreme Court, concerns an African-American man convicted of first-degree murder and sentenced to death by an all-white jury after the state used its peremptory challenges to exclude all prospective African-American jurors.

More than 150 attorneys and judges volunteered to judge the briefs and oral arguments. In appreciation of their service, the Law School offered the continuing legal and judicial education program "Predicting Prejudice: The Dynamic of Race in the Jury Selection Process," which took place February 1, 2008.

In addition to the schools mentioned, the following participated in the competition: Brooklyn Law School, Chicago Kent College of Law, DePaul University College of Law, Georgetown University Law Center, Hamline University Law School, J. Reuben Clark Law School of Brigham Young University, Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center of Touro College, New York Law School, Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law at Campbell University, Ohio State University Moritz College of Law, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law of Arizona State University, Seton Hall School of Law, Texas Tech University School of Law, University of Cincinnati College of Law, University of Michigan Law School, University of Oklahoma College of Law, University of South Dakota School of Law, University of St. Thomas School of Law, Valparaiso University School of Law, Washington University School of Law, Wayne State University, and William Mitchell College of Law.

Members of the final panel flank the winning team, University of Detroit Mercy School of Law Team 1. From left to right, Judge Lloyd Zimmerman of the Hennepin County District Court, Judge Joan N. Ericksen of the U. S. District Court, District of Minnesota, team member Jennifer Hartlep, coach Deborah Paruch, team members Clint Hubbell and Kathy Koziol, Associate Justice Paul H. Anderson of the Minnesota Supreme Court and Judge Toddrick S. Barnette of the Hennepin County District Court.

Judge Lloyd Zimmerman of the Hennepin County District Court addresses McGee Competition participants at its opening banquet in the law school’s Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi concourse.

Prof. Carl Warren, faculty advisor to the McGee Competition, meets with volunteer judges prior to an oral argument round.