Go to the U of M home page.

National Moot Court Team Advances to Nationals

NOVEMBER 29, 2011—The Law School’s National Moot Court teams had successful showings at the regional tournament hosted by Hamline School of Law from Nov. 17-19, 2011.

The Petitioner team (3Ls Sanjiv Laud, Matthias Niska, and Priyanka Sharma) won the Regional Petitioner Best Brief trophy with the highest score in the competition. Undefeated until the regional semifinals, the team lost to the eventual champions but qualified to go to the national final rounds, which will take place at the New York City Bar from Jan. 30 to Feb. 2, 2012.

The Respondent team (3Ls Isaac Messmore, Laura Nelson, and Shanna Yonke) advanced as far as the Region 14 quarterfinals.

The National Moot Court Competition has been sponsored by the New York City Bar Association’s Young Lawyers Committee and the American College of Trial Lawyers since 1950. Its goal is to develop appellate advocacy skills with a focus on statutory or constitutional issues of current national interest.

Law School students have advanced to the national finals nine times in the last ten years (18 times in the last 30 years).

Congratulations to the National Moot Court Competition teams and their coaches, Clinical Professor Brad Clary and Adjunct Professor Kristin Sankovitz.