Go to the U of M home page.

U of M Law School Adds Seven Distinguished Scholars to Its Faculty

The University of Minnesota Law School is extremely pleased to announce the appointment of seven highly distinguished faculty members: Susanna Blumenthal, Thomas Gallanis, Michele Goodwin, Daniel Schwarcz, Greg Shaffer, Lisa Stratton, and Barbara Welke.  Richard Painter, whose appointment was previously announced, will also begin teaching at the Law School next fall.

Visiting Professor Susanna Blumenthal has accepted a tenured associate professor position. Professor Blumenthal is currently an associate professor at the University of Michigan Law School. She researches and teaches in the areas of Anglo-American legal history, criminal law, and trusts and estates. She received her A.B. magna cum laude from Harvard-Radcliffe College, after which she spent a year on fellowship at Oxford. She earned her J.D. from Yale Law School, where she was a Coker Teaching Fellow and editor of the Yale Law Journal. She holds a Ph.D. in American history from Yale University.

Thomas P. Gallanis joins the faculty as a tenured professor from the Washington and Lee School of Law. Professor Gallanis received his B.A. summa cum laude with distinction in history from Yale University, his J.D. from the University of Chicago, and his LL.M. with first class honors in comparative law and legal history and Ph.D. in English legal history from Cambridge University. Professor Gallanis teaches property, trusts and estates, estates and gift taxation, elder law, and development of the Western legal tradition.

Michele Goodwin joins the Law School as a tenured professor. Professor Goodwin currently holds the Wicklander Chair in Ethics at DePaul College of Law. She will begin teaching here in the fall of 2008 after serving as a visiting professor at the University of Chicago Law School during the 2007-08 academic year. She received her B.A. from the University of Wisconsin, her J.D. from Boston College, and her LL.M. from the University of Wisconsin. She teaches health-related law classes, torts, biotechnical and bioethics law, and educational law.

Richard Painter will join the Law School as a tenured professor in the fall. He is a renowned scholar of professional responsibility, corporate governance, and securities regulation. He received his B.A. from Harvard University and his J.D. from Yale University, where he was an editor of the Yale Journal on Regulation. Following law school, he clerked for Judge John T. Noonan, Jr., of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit and later practiced at Sullivan & Cromwell in New York City. He is currently the Associate Counsel to the President in the White House Counsel’s office, serving as the chief ethics lawyer for the President, White House employees and senior Administration nominees.

Daniel Schwarcz comes on board as a tenure-track associate professor. Professor Schwarcz received his A.B. magna cum laude from Amherst College and his J.D. magna cum laude from Harvard Law School, where he is currently a lecturer. He has taught insurance and commercial law, and legal research and writing.

Gregory Shaffer will join the Law School as a tenured professor in the 2008-09 academic year. Professor Shaffer holds the Wing-Tat Lee Chair of International Law at Loyola University Chicago. He has taught courses in international trade law, international law, European Union law, and international business transactions. He received his B.A. from Dartmouth College and his J.D. from Stanford Law School. Prior to joining the faculty in 2006, Professor Shaffer was a professor at the University of Wisconsin Law School for ten years. He also practiced law in Paris for more than seven years with Coudert Frères and Bredin Prat.

Visiting Professor Lisa Stratton has accepted an offer to join the faculty as associate clinical professor of law. Professor Stratton received her B.A. in international relations from the University of Virginia and her J.D. from the University of Minnesota Law School magna cum laude in 1993. She was a MacArthur Scholar at the Law School, where she was awarded the Order of the Coif and the Steven M. Block Prize for Scholarship in Civil Rights and Civil Liberties. Professor Stratton will continue the work she has done in the past year leading the Workers’ Rights Clinic.

Barbara Welke joins the Law School in the 2007-08 academic year as a tenured professor. Professor Welke received her B.A. in history and political science with highest distinction and honors in history from the University of Kansas at Lawrence, her J.D. cum laude from the University of Michigan, and her Ph.D. with departmental honors from the University of Chicago. Currently a professor at the University of Minnesota History Department, she will have a joint appointment in law and history. Professor Welke has taught 19th and 20th century U.S. history and American legal and constitutional history.

With the addition of these new scholars, the Law School builds upon its previous merits and achieves unprecedented excellence in business law, law and economics, international law, international trade and health law. The Law School has now created new areas of excellence that are part of a long-term initiative in law and development, law and history and Workers’ Rights. "This is an exciting new group of faculty that will significantly contribute to the continued progress of the Law School," said Co-Dean Fred L. Morrison.

The Law School will continue to develop and pursue a world-class interdisciplinary law faculty that furthers Minnesota’s reputation for academic rigor and engagement with the pressing social, legal, and economic issues of our world.