Go to the U of M home page.

Prof. Cooper Wins Women's Leadership Development Award

AUGUST 7, 2012—Professor Laura J. Cooper has been selected to receive the 2012 Mullen-Spector-Truax Award for outstanding contributions to women's leadership development at the University of Minnesota. Cooper is the Law School's J. Stewart & Mario Thomas McClendon Professor in Law and Alternative Dispute Resolution and co-editor of the ABA Journal of Labor & Employment Law.

Award nominees, limited to women faculty and staff members, are evaluated on the basis of letters of support documenting the excellence, impact, and leadership empowerment of their contributions and their efforts to develop leadership in others. A selection committee appointed by the University's Women's Center names the award winner.

In her notification and congratulations communiqué to Cooper, Women's Center Director Peg Lonnquist, Ph.D., noted that letters of support "offered numerous examples of your significant impact on women's leadership development at the University and the potential for long-term sustainability of these programs and initiatives."

Cooper will receive the award on Oct. 12, 2012, at the annual Celebrating University Women Awards Program hosted by the Women's Center at McNamara Alumni Center. An accompanying monetary honorarium will go to the Law School for Cooper's use toward a professional development activity.

The Mullen-Spector-Truax Endowment was established in 1997 to support the award in honor of the contributions made to University women by Patricia Mullen, Equal Opportunity Affirmative Action; Janet Spector, Center for Advanced Feminist Studies; and Anne Truax, Women's Center. The Women's Center co-sponsors the award.