Go to the U of M home page.

Timothy R. Baer (’85) and Board of Advisors Member D. Cameron Findlay Win Burton Awards for Legal Achievement

MAY 31, 2013—Timothy R. Baer (’85), Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary for Target Corp., and University of Minnesota Law School Board of Advisors member D. Cameron Findlay, who serves as Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary for Medtronic, Inc., are both recipients of 2013 Burton Awards for Legal Achievement.

Baer is the winner of the Public Interest Award, presented to "an individual who serves as general counsel in one of America's corporations and, on a pro bono basis, has made a significant contribution or has had a significant impact on the public interest."

Findlay is a Legends in Law winner, selected on the basis of reputation in both the legal profession and as a proven authority in a specialized area of law; background and experience; complexity and scope of matters handled; global or national importance of issues confronted; creativity; uniqueness of new approaches adopted; proven leadership; and professionalism. Findlay was nominated by Fredrickson and Byron, P.A.

Baer and Findlay will receive their awards at the Burton Awards 14th Annual Awards Program and Gala on June 3, 2013, at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. The formal event is co-hosted by the Library of Congress and the Burton Foundation.

The nonprofit Burton Foundation was founded by William C. Burton, a former New York State Assistant Attorney General and a strong advocate of plain language in legal writing. Its award program was launched in 2000 and has grown in prestige, prominence, and competitiveness over the years. Professors from Harvard Law School, University of Pennsylvania Law School, and the University of California at Irvine School of Law, among others, select the award winners.

In previous years, the University of Minnesota Law School received a Record of Distinction Burton Award, and numerous students have won Burton Awards, earning the Law School a position as one of only five schools to receive the Burton award seven or more times. Numerous alumni have won Burton Awards in other categories as well.


Timothy Baer

Timothy R. Baer (’85)


D. Cameron Findlay

D. Cameron Findlay