Go to the U of M home page.

AAAS Elects Susan Wolf a Fellow

DECEMBER 18, 2008—Prof. Susan M. Wolf has been elected a 2008 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Individuals are elevated to the rank of Fellow as a result of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

Wolf was selected for her distinguished contributions to the fields of law and science, law and medicine, bioethics, and particularly genomics research and end-of-life care.

She is the McKnight Presidential Professor of Law, Medicine & Public Policy and Faegre & Benson Professor of Law at the University of Minnesota Law School and a professor of Medicine and a faculty member in the Center for Bioethics at the University of Minnesota.

Wolf is founding chair of the University's Consortium on Law and Values in Health, Environment & the Life Sciences and founding director of the University's Joint Degree Program in Law, Health & the Life Sciences. The Consortium and Joint Degree Program will celebrate their 10th anniversary in 2009 with a conference entitled "What's Next in Law, Health & the Life Sciences? Debating Openness, Access & Accountability."

This year, the AAAS elected 486 Fellows from among its membership. Others from the University of Minnesota are Bruce R. Blazar, Allen S. Levine, Timothy P. Lodge, Michael J. Sadowsky, Shashi Shekhar, and Deon D. Stuthman. New members will receive an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin (representing science and engineering) on Feb. 14, 2009, at the AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for Fellowship if nominated by the Association's steering groups, CEO, or three current Fellows. Steering groups review nominations within their section and forward a final list to the AAAS Council for voting. The Council, chaired by the AAAS president, consists of the board of directors, retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.

The AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science. It was founded in 1848 and its mission is to "advance science and serve society" through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, and more.


Susan Wolf

Read Professor
Susan M. Wolf's Bio