Go to the U of M home page.

October Conference to Study and Honor Women in Higher Education

Thursday, October 7, 5:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday, October 8, 9:00 a.m. - 4:15 pm.
University of Minnesota Law School
Walter F. Mondale Hall, Lockhart Hall (Room 25)



September 2, 2010—Breaking the glass ceiling in leadership, pay equity, diversity, and academic quality of life will be the focus of a conference entitled Women in Higher Education: Power, Progress, & the Promise of Equality co-hosted by the University of Minnesota Women’s Faculty Cabinet and the Law School on Oct. 7 and 8, 2010.

A major pay equity study on women in higher education sponsored by the Cabinet, the first in-depth analysis of the topic at the University in 20 years, will be unveiled.

Also, the conference will honor the legacy of women at the University who sparked equity in hiring advances. The University took a progressive step toward pay equity for women 30 years ago, establishing a commission to explore the issue and others. These efforts were harmonized by a group of pioneering women who challenged universities across the nation to live up to their ideals and values.

The Conference’s panel discussions will feature distinguished women, among the most prominent in their fields, offering both academic observations and pragmatic views of life in leadership roles. Participants will include past and sitting university presidents, chancellors, deans, and professors from a broad disciplinary spectrum.

On Thursday, Oct. 7, at a reception from 5:00-8:00 p.m. Minnesota honorees Carolyn Chalmers (‘77), Professor Laura Cooper, Dr. Shyamala Rajender, and Andrea Rubenstein (‘77), as well as Dr. Blenda Wilson, one of the nation’s most prominent higher education pioneers, will receive awards, presented by State Representative Phyllis Kahn. Dr. Susan Herbst, Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer for the University System of Georgia, will deliver the keynote address at 5:00 p.m.

On Friday, Oct. 8, panel discussions will run from 9:00 a.m.-4:15 p.m. in Lockhart Hall (Room 25) at the Law School. Topics will be as follows:

  • 9:00-10:30 a.m.: From the Classroom to the Courts: The Battlegrounds of Affirmative Action, Sex Discrimination, and Title IX
  • 10:45 a.m.-12:15 p.m.: Breaking the Glass Ceiling: Women in Science, Technology, and Medicine
  • 12:25-1:15 p.m.: Pay Equity in the 21st Century: The Minnesota Report
  • 1:25-2:40 p.m.: Diversity in Higher Education: When and Where We Enter
  • 2:45-4:15 p.m.: Women in Higher Education: A New Era of Leadership

Panelists include academic luminaries: Dr. Beverly Tatum, President of Spelman College, Dean Kellye Teste of the University of Washington, Dean Phoebe Haddon of the University of Maryland, Dean Jessie Owens of the University of California-Davis, Dr. Sylvia Daunert, Chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Miami, Asst. Dean Mary Simmerling, Cornell Medical School, Dr. Abigail Stewart of the University of Michigan and a pioneer in advancing women in science and math, and many other dynamic women.

The Women’s Faculty Cabinet was created in the fall of 2005 by Provost Thomas Sullivan to provide leadership in improving and enriching the academic and professional environments for women faculty at the University. It consists of tenured and tenure-track women faculty representing a wide range of disciplines. Michele Bratcher Goodwin, the Everett Fraser Professor of Law and Professor of Medicine chairs the Cabinet.

The Conference is open to the community. Bias CLE credits have been requested. For further information, email Ms. Jess Kubis at kubi0032@umn.edu.

This conference is co-sponsored by: The University of Minnesota Academic Health Center (AHC), Department of Psychology, College of Science and Engineering (CSE) and the College of Liberal Arts (CLA).

See the full agenda or register now. For hotel accommodations, visit http://www.starwoodmeeting.com/Book/UofMWomenInHigherEd.