Law School

Board of Advisors 2017-18

The Law School’s Board of Advisors is made up of alumni and community leaders that provide counsel and support to the dean in carrying out his priorities for the Law School and building a more engaged and philanthropic alumni community. 

Amy C. Seidel (’98) Chair
Partner, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

Daniel W. McDonald (’85) Chair-Elect
Partner, Merchant & Gould

Jay L. Kim (’88) Immediate Past Chair
Partner, Dorsey & Whitney LLP

Joseph M. Barbeau (’81)
Partner, Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Jeanette M. Bazis (’92)
Attorney, Greene Espel PLLP

Sitso W. Bediako (’08)
Associate, Lowey Dannenberg Cohen & Hart, P.C.

Amy L. Bergquist (’07)
Staff Attorney, The Advocates For Human Rights

Karin J. Birkeland (’87)
Formerly with Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

James L. Chosy (’89)
Executive Vice President & General Counsel, U.S. Bancorp

John F. Hartmann (’87)
Senior Partner, Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Gary J. Haugen (’74)
Of Counsel, Maslon LLP

The Honorable Natalie E. Hudson (’82)
Associate Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court

Rachel C. Hughey (’03)
Partner, Merchant & Gould PC

Nora L. Klaphake (’94)
Chief of Staff & Secretary to the Board of Trustees, Hamilton College

Greg J. Marita (’91)
Deputy Director, Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid

Ambassador Tom McDonald (’79)
Partner, Baker Hostetler

Christine L. Meuers (’83)
Formerly with Wells Fargo & Company

Michelle A. Miller (’86)
Vice President & Chief Counsel in Employment Law, Medtronic, Inc.

Cyrus A. Morton (’98)
Partner, Robins Kaplan LLP

Michael T. Nilan (’79)
Shareholder, Nilan Johnson Lewis PA

Pam F. Olson (’80)
U.S. Deputy Tax Leader & Washington National Tax Services Leader, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Roshan N. Rajkumar (’00)
Partner, Bowman and Brooke LLP

Mary S. Ranum (’83)
Shareholder, Fredrikson & Byron PA

Stephen P. Safranski (’97)
Partner, Robins Kaplan LLP

Michael P. Sullivan Jr. (’96)
Principal, Gray Plant Mooty Mooty & Bennett PA

The Honorable John R. Tunheim (’80)
Chief U.S. District Judge, United States District Court

Bryn R. Vaaler (’79)
Chief Marketing and Professional Development Officer/Of Counsel, Dorsey & Whitney LLP

Kevin Warren
Chief Operating Officer, Minnesota Vikings Football LLC

Note: Recruitment of new members is managed by the Board’s Nominations and Governance Committee, and subject to approval by the full Board of Advisors. However, there are several sub-committees of the Board of Advisors that regularly seek additional non-board member volunteers to become actively involved. For more information about these opportunities and other ways to get involved as an alumni volunteer, please contact Ryan Sendelbach at or 612-624-2176.

Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-1000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media