UMN Law Board of Advisors

Board of Advisors 2019-20

The Law School’s Board of Advisors is made up of alumni and community leaders that provide counsel and support to the dean in carrying out his priorities for the Law School and building a more engaged and philanthropic alumni community. 

Gary J. Haugen ’74 Chair
Of Counsel, Maslon LLP

Michelle A. Miller ’86 Chair-Elect
Vice President & Chief Counsel in Employment Law, Medtronic, Inc.

Daniel W. McDonald ’85 Immediate Past Chair
Partner, Merchant & Gould

Ann N. Anaya ’93
Chief Diversity Officer and Global Diversity and Inclusion Strategic Lead, 3M Co.

Joseph M. Barbeau ’81
Partner, Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Jeanette M. Bazis ’92
Attorney, Greene Espel PLLP

Sitso W. Bediako ’08
Associate, Lowey Dannenberg Cohen & Hart, P.C.

Amy L. Bergquist ’07
Staff Attorney, The Advocates For Human Rights

Karin J. Birkeland ’87
Formerly with Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

Rachel S. Brass ’01
Partner, Gibson Dunn

Joshua L. Colburn ’07
Partner, Faegre Baker Daniels

Coré S. Cotton ’89
Associate General Counsel, Wells Fargo & Company

Barbara Jean D’Aquila ’79
Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright

The Honorable Natalie E. Hudson ’82
Associate Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court

Rachel C. Hughey ’03
Partner, Merchant & Gould PC

Ronald E. Hunter ’78
Retired Assistant Vice President and Chief Trademark Counsel, Cargill, Inc.

Nora L. Klaphake ’94
Chief of Staff & Secretary to the Board of Trustees, Hamilton College

Greg J. Marita ’91
Deputy Director, Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid

Ambassador Tom McDonald ’79
Partner, Baker Hostetler

Christine L. Meuers ’83
Formerly with Wells Fargo & Company

Michael T. Nilan ’79
Shareholder, Nilan Johnson Lewis PA

Pamela F. Olson ’80
U.S. Deputy Tax Leader & Washington National Tax Services Leader, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Stephen P. Safranski ’97
Partner, Robins Kaplan LLP

Michael L. Skoglund ’01
Senior Lawyer, Cargill, Inc.

James H. Snelson ’97
Shareholder, Fredrikson & Byron PA

Michael P. Sullivan Jr. ’96
Principal, Gray Plant Mooty Mooty & Bennett PA

Bryn R. Vaaler ’79
Chief Marketing and Professional Development Officer/Of Counsel, Dorsey & Whitney LLP

Renae L. Welder ’96
Tax Principal, Deloitte

Emily W. Wessels ’14
Counsel, General Mills

Wanda Young Wilson ’79
Chief Operating Officer & General Counsel, Tennessee Lottery Corporation

Note: Recruitment of new members is managed by the Board’s Nominations and Governance Committee, and subject to approval by the full Board of Advisors. However, there are several sub-committees of the Board of Advisors that regularly seek additional non-board member volunteers to become actively involved. For more information about these opportunities and other ways to get involved as an alumni volunteer, please contact Elliott Gore at or 612-624-2176.

Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-5000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media