UMN Law Board of Advisors

Board of Advisors 2021-22

The Law School’s Board of Advisors is made up of alumni and community leaders that provide counsel and support to the dean in carrying out his priorities for the Law School and building a more engaged and philanthropic alumni community. 

Jeanette M. Bazis ’92Jeanette M. Bazis ’92, Chair
Attorney, Greene Espel PLLP


Barbara Jean D'Aquila ’79Barbara Jean D’Aquila ’79, Chair Elect
Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright


Michelle A. Miller ’86Michelle A. Miller ’86, Immediate Past Chair
Vice President & Chief Counsel in Employment Law, Medtronic, Inc.


Joseph M. Barbeau ’81Joseph M. Barbeau ’81
Partner, Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP


B. Andrew Bednark ’02B. Andrew Bednark ’02
Partner, O’Melveny & Myers LLP


Brandon L. Blakely ’18Brandon L. Blakely ’18
Associate, Stinson LLP


The Honorable Nancy E. Brasel ’96The Honorable Nancy E. Brasel ’96
U.S. District Judge, District of Minnesota


Rachel S. Brass ’01Rachel S. Brass ’01
Partner, Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP


Rjay J. Brunkow ’04Rjay J. Brunkow ’04
CEO, Indian Land Capital Company


Laura G. Coates ’05Laura G. Coates ’05
Senior Legal Analyst, CNN


Joshua L. Colburn ’07Joshua L. Colburn ’07
Partner, Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP


Coré S. Cotton ’89Coré S. Cotton ’89
Associate General Counsel, Wells Fargo & Company


Timothy E. Grimsrud ’04Timothy E. Grimsrud ’04
Partner, Faegre Drinker


The Honorable Natalie E. Hudson ’82The Honorable Natalie E. Hudson ’82
Associate Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court


Ronald E. Hunter ’78Ronald E. Hunter ’78
Retired Assistant Vice President and Chief Trademark Counsel, Cargill, Inc.


Nora L. Klaphake ’94Nora L. Klaphake ’94
Owner and CEO at The Legal Talent Group


Christopher K. Larus ’91Christopher K. Larus ’91
National Chair, IP & Technology Practice, Robins Kaplan


Juanita (Nita) Bolland Luis ’77Juanita (Nita) Bolland Luis ’77
Senior Associate General Counsel, UnitedHealthcare


Greg J. Marita ’91Greg J. Marita ’91
Deputy Director, Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid


Catlan M. McCurdy ’11Catlan M. McCurdy ’11
Principal Attorney, McCurdy LLC


Ambassador Tom McDonald ’79Ambassador Tom McDonald ’79
Partner, Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP


Pamela F. Olson ’80Pamela F. Olson ’80
Consultant, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP


James W. Poradek ’98James W. Poradek ’98
Housing Rights Attorney, Housing Justice Center


Michael L. Skoglund ’01Michael L. Skoglund ’01
Senior Lawyer, Cargill, Inc.


James H. Snelson ’97James H. Snelson ’97
Shareholder, Fredrikson & Byron PA


Michael P. Sullivan, Jr. ’96Michael P. Sullivan, Jr. ’96
Partner in Charge of the Minneapolis office, Lathrop GPM


Hema L. Viswanathan ’05Hema L. Viswanathan ’05
Senior Counsel, Sherwin Williams


Renae L. Welder ’96Renae L. Welder ’96
Tax Principal, Deloitte


Emily M. Wessels ’14Emily M. Wessels ’14
Counsel Attorney at General Mills


Wanda Young Wilson ’79Wanda Young Wilson ’79
Formerly with Tennessee Lottery Corporation


Note: Recruitment of new members is managed by the Board’s Nominations and Governance Committee, and subject to approval by the full Board of Advisors. However, there are several sub-committees of the Board of Advisors that regularly seek additional non-board member volunteers to become actively involved. For more information about these opportunities and other ways to get involved as an alumni volunteer, please contact Elliott Gore at or 612-624-2176.

Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-5000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media