Diversity and belonging: A welcoming Minnesota Law community

Diversity & Belonging Committee

The Diversity and Belonging Committee’s mission is to promote a welcoming, inclusive, and supportive environment for all students, including those from underrepresented communities, and equip all students with the skills to develop cultural competence and ability to mitigate individual and systemic bias in the legal profession.

Upcoming Events

Police lights

Policing, Racism, and the Law
Thursday, June 11
12-1 p.m.
Online Panel Discussion

Watch the recording of this webinar

This discussion will focus on policing and the law in addition to exploring current realities, policy, and legal solutions to racial violence and bias in policing.

The webinar will feature Dean Garry W. Jenkins, Professor Susanna Blumenthal, Professor Perry Moriearty, Professor Maria Ponomarenko, and Nadine Graves with “We Are All Criminals.” Co-Sponsored by the University of Minnesota Law School and the Law School’s Diversity & Belonging Committee.

Minding the Justice Gap Scholarship Series

Diversity and Belonging: A welcoming Minnesota Law community

Innocence Project of Minnesota

The Diversity & Belonging Committee was pleased to present Minding the Justice Gap with the Innocence Project of Minnesota (IPMN) on April 14. Audience members heard about IPMN’s groundbreaking advocacy, the recent success in the Javon Davis case, and how others can get involved in the on-going work of closing the gap in the criminal justice system.

  • Panelists included Julie Jonas ’95 (IPMN Legal Director), James Mayer ’01 (IPMN Staff Attorney), and Rachael Melby, 3L (IPMN Law Clerk) from the Innocence Project.
  • The discussion was moderated by Abbie Hanson, 3L, from the Criminal Justice League.

The Innocence Project of Minnesota (IPMN), working with Minnesota Law students, recently helped overturn the conviction of a man who steadfastly maintained his innocence throughout five years of incarceration. Watch the recording of the webinar here.

Read more here.

School Segregation in the Twin Cities

Minnesota Law’s Diversity and Belonging Committee held the inaugural Minding the Justice Gap Scholarship Series on November 20, 2019.

Professor Myron Orfield of the Institute on Metropolitan Opportunity discussed school segregation in the Twin Cities and how it—along with other factors like gentrification and housing issues—contribute to a lack of diversity in American higher education.

Watch this webpage for details about our next event.

Join or Contact Minnesota Law’s Diversity Committee

At Minnesota Law, we believe that excellence and diversity go hand-in-hand. We strive to implement these core values in a number of ways so that we may offer a diverse, equitable, and inclusive experience for all students, staff, and faculty. Through our dedicated Diversity & Belonging Committee, we continue to work toward these goals.

Minnesota Law students and staff attend the University of Minnesota’s annual Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Breakfast.Minnesota Law students and staff attend the University of Minnesota’s annual Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Breakfast.
Minnesota Law students and staff attend the University of Minnesota’s annual Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Breakfast.

To contact the Diversity Committee, email lawdiv@umn.edu.

2019-2020 Law School Diversity and Belonging Committee Members

To contact the committee, email lawdiv@umn.edu or any of the committee members below.

Name Email Address Law School Role
Holm Belsheim belsh009@umn.edu Coordinator, 3L
Marielos Cabrera cabre103@umn.edu 2L
Eduardo Castro castr272@umn.edu 3L
Elissa Chaffee echaffee@umn.edu Staff
Katherine Chen chen4396@umn.edu 1L
Nubia Esparza espa0014@umn.edu Staff
Kara Galvin galvink@umn.edu Staff
Dena Gergen gergend@umn.edu Staff
Fabiola Gretzinger gretz014@umn.edu 1L
Caroline Headrick cheadric@umn.edu 1L
Alison Kennedy kenne766@umn.edu Staff
Erin Keyes keye0019@umn.edu Staff
Jon Lee jonlee@umn.edu Faculty
Deepinder Mayell dmayell@umn.edu Staff
Perry Moriearty pmoriear@umn.edu Faculty
Gabrielle Olivieri Sliwka olivi014@umn.edu Alumni
Myron Orfield orfield@umn.edu Faculty
Dorislynn Quinones quino054@umn.edu Coordinator, 2L
Roshan Rajkumar Roshan.Rajkumar1019@gmail.com Alumni
Navin Ramalingam ramal025@umn.edu 2L
Simona Suen suen@umn.edu Staff
Catherine Ulrich ulric146@umn.edu 2L
Monica Wittstock witt0265@umn.edu Staff

Provide Feedback

Do you have a Diversity & Inclusion-related comment or concern? Contact the Law School’s Diversity Committee:

Comment Form: z.umn.edu/lawdiv
Email: lawdiv@umn.edu


Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-5000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media