Human Rights Center News

  • Law School News

    Five Law School Faculty Members Among Recipients of University’s Grand Challenges Grants

    October 3, 2016

    Executive vice president and provost Karen Hanson has announced that the University of Minnesota’s first Grand Challenges Grants, totaling $3.6 million in support, have been awarded to 29 teams of faculty from across the Twin Cities campus.

  • Branden Delaney ('17)

    Brendan Delany (’17) Wins National Institute of Military Justice Essay Prize

    September 27, 2016

    Brendan Delany (’17) has been named the winner of the 2016 Admiral John S. Jenkins Prize for Excellence in Military Studies for his essay “Just Wars with Unjust Allies: Use of Force and Human Rights Considerations on the Russian Intervention in Syria.”

  • Professor Robert A. Stein ('61)

    Prof. Robert A. Stein (’61) Receives Global Engagement Award

    June 6, 2016

    Professor Robert A. Stein (’61), the Everett Fraser Professor of Law, has been honored with a 2016 Award for Global Engagement by the University’s Global Programs and Strategy Alliance office. This award is given to faculty and staff to acknowledge exceptional achievements in and contributions to global education, research, and engagement on behalf of the University.

  • Heather Abraham (’12)

    Heather Abraham (’12) Awarded Equal Justice Works Fellowship

    May 10, 2016

    Heather Abraham (’12) has been awarded a two-year postgraduate fellowship through Equal Justice Works, a nonprofit organization whose mission is “mobilizing the next generation of lawyers committed to equal justice.” Abraham will spend the term of her fellowship at Legal Services of Northern Michigan, in Traverse City, representing homeless adults and low-income renters at imminent risk of home

  • Left to right: Allison Rochford ('16), Marc Shinn-Krantz ('16), Drew Glasnovich ('16), Chelsea Lemke ('16), Katarina Lee ('16), Kyle Kroll ('16)

    Six Students to Receive President’s Student Leadership and Service Award

    April 25, 2016

    University President Eric Kaler’s office has announced that six third-year Law School students—Drew Glasnovich, Kyle Kroll, Katarina Lee, Chelsea Lemke, Allison Rochford, and Marc Shinn-Krantz—are among the winners of the 2016 President’s Student Leadership and Service Award (PSLSA).

  • Anne Dutton (’16)

    Anne Dutton (’16) Argues High-Stakes Asylum Case Before 9th Circuit Court of Appeals

    April 14, 2016

    On April 6, Anne Dutton (’16) presented oral argument before a three-judge panel of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 9th Circuit in Wilfredo Garay-Reyes v. Loretta E. Lynch, U.S. Attorney General. The case has attracted national attention, and its outcome could affect thousands of asylum seekers fleeing gang-related persecution in Central America.

  • Dean David Wippman to Be Honored for Human Rights Work

    April 12, 2016

    The Advocates for Human Rights has announced that it will present Dean David Wippman with its 2016 Special Recognition Award in honor of his career-long human rights work and his stewardship in the creation of the Law School’s pioneering Center for New Americans.

  • James Meinert ('17) and Kyle Kroll ('16)

    Two Law School Students Win Bloomberg Writing Awards

    March 25, 2016

    James Meinert (’17) and Kyle Kroll (’16) snared top honors in the 2016 Bloomberg Law Write-On Competition, winning $2,500 each in the nationwide contest. The competition puts a premium on clear and concise writing, as entries must run between 1,000 and 1,600 words.

  • Anne Dutton, Griffin Ferry, and Dane Rockow

    Law School Team Wins Clara Barton International Humanitarian Law Competition

    March 21, 2016

    A team of three students from the Law School has won the 2016 Clara Barton International Humanitarian Law Competition, which is conducted by the American Red Cross. Team members Anne Dutton, Griffin Ferry, and Dane Rockow, all 3Ls, traveled to Seattle for the competition, defeating the team from Harvard Law School in the final round.

  • Samuel D. Heins (’72)

    Samuel D. Heins (’72) Confirmed as Ambassador to Norway

    February 16, 2016

    The U.S. Senate has confirmed the nomination of Samuel D. Heins (’72) as the United States ambassador to the Kingdom of Norway. Heins was nominated to the ambassadorship by President Obama in May 2015.


Faculty News

Sorry, but there are no articles for the month chosen. Please RESET and select another month.


Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-5000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media