Human Rights Center News

  • Associate Professor Neha Jain

    Neha Jain Named McKnight Land-Grant Professor

    January 21, 2016

    The Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost has announced that Associate Professor Neha Jain has been named a 2016-2018 McKnight Land-Grant Professor. Jain is one of just eight University of Minnesota faculty members selected this year for the honor.

  • Griffin Ferry ('16)

    Griffin Ferry (’16) Wins International Humanitarian Law Writing Competition

    December 14, 2015

    Griffin Ferry, who is on track to receive his J.D. from the Law School next May, has been named the winner of the 2015 International Humanitarian Law (IHL) Student Writing Competition. The competition is sponsored by the Center for Human Rights and Humanitarian Law at American University Washington College of Law, the American Society of International Law’s Lieber Society, and the IHL program of the American Red Cross.

  • Andrea Crumrine ('16)

    Andrea Crumrine (’16) Awarded Equal Justice Works Fellowship

    November 18, 2015

    Andrea Crumrine, who expects to receive her J.D. from the Law School next May, has been awarded a two-year postgraduate fellowship through Equal Justice Works, a nonprofit organization whose mission is “mobilizing the next generation of lawyers committed to equal justice.”

  • Mark Kappelhoff

    Prof. Mark Kappelhoff Receives U.S. Justice Department's Highest Award

    October 21, 2015

    Professor Mark Kappelhoff today received the prestigious U.S. Attorney General’s Award for Exceptional Service from Attorney General Loretta Lynch.

  • Professor Christopher Roberts

    Prof. Christopher N.J. Roberts Wins Human Rights Book Award

    July 10, 2015

    The American Sociological Association has awarded its 2015 Gordon Hirabayashi Human Rights Book Award to The Contentious History of the International Bill of Human Rights by Professor Christopher N.J. Roberts. The award is given annually by the ASA Section on Human Rights to the author whose book “demonstrates the most thoughtful, competent, or innovative analysis of a theoretical or empirical issue” in the field of human rights. Roberts, an associate professor at the Law School and an affiliated faculty member of the University’s Department of Sociology, will receive the award at the ASA’s annual meeting in August.

  • Professor David Weissbrodt

    Prof. David Weissbrodt Wins Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award

    October 1, 2014

    David Weissbrodt, founder and co-director of the Human Rights Center, a member of the Law School faculty since 1975 and a local, national, and global leader in human rights advocacy, has been named a 2014 recipient of the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award. The honor recognizes educators who have inspired their former students to “create an organization which has demonstrably conferred a benefit on the community at large.”


Faculty News

Sorry, but there are no articles for the month chosen. Please RESET and select another month.


Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-5000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media