Human Rights Center Faculty & Staff

  • Fionnuala Ní Aoláin, Faculty Director (international law, human rights law, national security law, transitional justice, feminist legal theory)
  • David Weissbrodt, Founding Director (international human rights law, rights of non-citizen, fair trial, business and human rights)
  • Amanda Lyons, Executive Director (international human rights law and advocacy, business and human rights, economic and social rights)
  • Marsha Freeman, Senior Fellow and IWRAW Director (women’s human rights)
  • Krisztina Huszti-Orban, Research Fellow & Senior Legal Advisor to the UN Special Rapporteur on counter-terrorism and human rights
  • Tracey Blasenheim, Interdisciplinary Dissertation Fellow
  • Robyn Skrebes Gulley, Outreach Director
  • Sarah Thune, Administrative Coordinator

Additional Faculty

  • Jennie Green (international human rights law, litigation in U.S. courts and international legal systems, business and human rights)
  • Ryan Greenwood (history of international law)
  • Oren Gross (international humanitarian law, national security law)
  • Neha Jain (international criminal law)
  • Steve Meili (rights of noncitizens, international human rights law, international refugee law)
  • Chris Roberts (sociology and public policy perspective to human rights, international law, legal history)
  • Robert Stein (rule of law)
  • Loren Turner (international and foreign legal research)


The Human Rights Center thrives in an exceptionally vibrant human rights community at the Law School, in the University, and in the Twin Cities. Our partners include:

Faculty News


Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-1000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media