News Section Header


  • Center for New Americans

    Asylum Victory After Settlement at U.S. Supreme Court

    January 8, 2015

    Capping years of collaborative litigation that ultimately reached the U.S. Supreme Court, Center for New Americans’ (CNA) client Pe Paul Goromou was granted asylum on January 8 by an immigration judge. The CNA’s Federal Immigration Litigation Clinic, along with co-counsel from Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi, L.L.P., and The Advocates for Human Rights, filed a petition for certiorari asking the U.S. Supreme Court to intervene and correct the government’s misinterpretation of a controversial statute that requires most persons fleeing persecution to apply for asylum within one year of their arrival in the United States.

  • Nicole Starr (’03)

    Nicole Starr (’03) Appointed Judge in Minnesota's Second District

    December 31, 2014

    Nicole Starr, a 2003 honors graduate of the Law School, has been appointed by Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton to serve as a judge in the state’s Second Judicial District. Her appointment fills one of two vacancies on the bench created when Judges Paulette Flynn and Gregg Johnson retired earlier this year. The Second Judicial District, with 29 judges, 4 referees, and 2 magistrates, encompasses all of Ramsey County and includes the capital city of St. Paul. In making the appointment, the governor called Starr “extremely accomplished” and praised her “exemplary commitment to public service.”

  • Janine Kern (’85)

    Janine Kern (’85) Appointed to South Dakota Supreme Court

    December 4, 2014

    Janine Kern (’85) has been appointed a justice of the South Dakota Supreme Court, replacing retiring justice John K. Konenkamp. She had previously served for 18 years as a judge in the state’s 7th Judicial Circuit. In announcing Kern’s appointment to the five-justice panel, Gov. Dennis Daugaard praised her “rigorous legal mind, her conscientious work ethic, and her commitment to fairness and equal justice under the law.” Kern will be the 49th justice in the history of South Dakota’s high court, and the third female justice.

  • Steve Simon (’96)

    Steve Simon (’96) Elected Minnesota Secretary of State

    November 24, 2014

    Steve Simon (’96) was elected Minnesota Secretary of State earlier this month, winning a close race by a margin of 22,000 out of 1.9 million votes cast. He will take office in January.

  • Left to right: Meghan Heesch, Maya Tao (’15), Shelby Deckert (’16), and Jill Jensen (’16)

    Detainee Rights Clinic Students Secure New Hearing for Nevada Client

    November 20, 2014

    Student attorneys in the University of Minnesota Law School’s Detainee Rights Clinic have secured a remand from the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA) for a client who had been detained in the state of Nevada.

  • Kristi Rudelius-Palmer

    Kristi Rudelius-Palmer, HRC Co-Director, Participates in Mock U.S. Senate Hearing on Children’s Rights Legislation in Boston

    November 20, 2014

    On Nov. 20, the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child celebrated its 25th anniversary. In honor of this milestone, Kristi Rudelius-Palmer, co-director of the Human Rights Center, and the Law School’s Fulbright Humphrey Fellow Vered Windman, participated in a mock U.S. Senate hearing on children’s rights legislation at the Edward M. Kennedy Institute in Boston, which will officially open in March. The institute has a replica of the U.S. Senate Chambers where the simulation with 30 teachers took place. “We need to have our young people become more civically engaged, active leaders, fostering societies based on principles and practices of equality, non-discrimination, non-violence, and responsibility around the globe,” Rudelius-Palmer said.

  • Tim Looby (’82)

    Tim Looby (’82) Appointed Judge in Minnesota's First District

    November 12, 2014

    Tim Looby (’82) has been appointed by Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton to serve as a judge in the state’s First Judicial District. He replaces Judge Thomas McCarthy, who retired. The First Judicial District, with 36 judges, more than 250 staff employees, and an annual caseload topping 150,000, encompasses a seven-county area just south of the Twin Cities. Looby’s investiture ceremony was held Oct. 24.

  • Sara Sommarstrom (’05) and George Byron "Geordie" Griffiths (’15)

    Sara Sommarstrom (’05) and George Byron Griffiths (’15) to Be Honored by Minnesota Justice Foundation

    October 28, 2014

    The Minnesota Justice Foundation (MJF) has announced that among the recipients of its Outstanding Service Awards this year will be Law School alumna Sara Sommarstrom (‘05) and third-year law student George Byron “Geordie” Griffiths. The awards will be presented at the MJF Annual Awards Celebration on November 19.

  • News

    Three Law School Alumni Honored in University's China 100 Celebration

    October 24, 2014

    In 1914, three students from China—Pan Wen Huen, Pan Wen Ping, and Kwong Yi Kum—enrolled at the University of Minnesota. Today, the University hosts more than 2,200 students and scholars from China each year. China 100 is the University’s yearlong celebration honoring those first Chinese students and the wealth of connections that have come in the century since.

  • Institute on Metropolitan Opportunity

    IMO Study Shows Chicago Charter Schools Underperform their Traditional Counterparts

    October 13, 2014

    A new study by the Institute on Metropolitan Opportunity (IMO) at the University of Minnesota Law School showed that charter schools in Chicago underperform comparable traditional public schools and are more highly segregated by race. The analysis used comprehensive data for Chicago schools in 2012-13 and controlled for the mix of students and other challenges faced by individual schools.


E.g., Jun 23 2017
E.g., Jun 23 2017

Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-1000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media