News Section Header


  • Aaron Minster (’17), Professor Laura Thomas, Sam Ketchum (’17)

    Civil Practice Clinic Wins $25,000 Civil Assault Verdict

    January 18, 2017

    A jury trial in southeastern Minnesota last week allowed a young immigrant woman to tell her story of labor exploitation and misery. The verdict shows that the jury of four men and three women believed her.

  • 3Ls Rachel Molsberry and Katie Ziomek

    3Ls Rachel Molsberry and Katie Ziomek Named Equal Justice Works Fellows

    January 3, 2017

    Third-year Law School students Rachel Molsberry and Katie Ziomek have each been awarded two-year postgraduate fellowships through Equal Justice Works, a nonprofit organization whose mission is “mobilizing the next generation of lawyers committed to equal justice.” Molsberry will spend the term of her fellowship at Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid’s office in Willmar, Minn., working to develop a medical-

  • 3Ls Shannon Jankowksi and Amanda McAllister

    3Ls Shannon Jankowski and Amanda McAllister Awarded Human Rights Fellowships

    December 21, 2016

    Third-year Law School students Shannon Jankowski and Amanda McAllister have been selected to receive 2016-17 Benjamin B. Ferencz Fellowships in Human Rights and Law. The fellowships, which are awarded by World Without Genocide, an organization based at Mitchell Hamline School of Law in St. Paul, are named in honor of international human rights advocate Benjamin B. Ferencz.

  • Judge Michael J. Davis (’47)

    Myron H. Bright (’47), Revered 8th Circuit Appeals Court Judge, Dies at 97

    December 19, 2016

    The Law School mourns the passing of Judge Myron H. Bright (’47), who served a record 48 years on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 8th Circuit. Bright passed away Dec. 12 in Fargo, N.D. He was 97. He had been hearing cases until a few weeks ago as a judge with senior status on the court.

  • Professor Joan Howland

    Prof. Joan Howland Wins 2017 AALS Law Library Section Award

    December 14, 2016

    The Association of American Law Schools has announced the winners of its 2017 section awards for excellence in legal education. Joan Howland, Roger F. Noreen Professor of Law, associate dean for information and technology, and director of the Law Library, was chosen to receive the AALS Section on Law Libraries and Legal Information Award.

  • Miles Lord (’48)

    Law School Mourns the Passing of Judge Miles Lord (’48)

    December 14, 2016

    Miles Lord (’48), an outspoken judge whose two decades on the U.S. District Court were marked by frequent controversy and banner headlines, died in Eden Prairie, Minn., on Dec. 10. He was 97.

  • And in the bridge photo, from left to right it is: Prof. Francis Shen, Alina Yasis, Mikaela Brandt-Fontaine, Jordan Krieg, Kai Saito, Joshua Preston (‘19), and Emily Twedell. (Not pictured: Caitlin Opperman (‘18)  and co-author Jaleh McTeigue from Mt. Hol

    Joshua Preston (’19), Caitlin Opperman (’18), Prof. Francis Shen Co-Author AMA Journal of Ethics Article

    December 7, 2016

    In its December 2016 issue, the AMA Journal of Ethics has published an article co-authored by Law School students Joshua Preston (’19) and Caitlin Opperman (’18), along with Professor Francis Shen and other student members of the Shen Neurolaw Lab

  • Trial of Charles I of England, tried and executed for treason in 1649.

    Riesenfeld Rare Books Center Opens Transitional Justice Exhibit

    December 2, 2016

    The Law Library’s Stefan A. Riesenfeld Rare Books Research Center has opened a new exhibit, “Transitional Justice in Historical Perspective,” that illuminates theories and moments of transitional justice from high medieval Europe through the war crimes trials that followed World War II.

  • Anne Dutton (’16)

    Anne Dutton (’16) to Receive Equal Justice Works Fellowship

    December 1, 2016

    Anne Dutton (’16) has been awarded a two-year postgraduate fellowship through Equal Justice Works, a nonprofit organization whose mission is “mobilizing the next generation of lawyers committed to equal justice.” Dutton will spend the term of her fellowship working at the Center for Gender & Refugee Studies at UC Hastings College of the Law in San Francisco, representing child asylum seeker

  • 3Ls Andrew Knaak, Brittany Gefroh, Andrew Leiendecker, Samuel Thompson, Rudolph Dambeck, and Sean Rinehart

    National Moot Court Competition Teams Make Strong Showing at Region Tournament

    November 22, 2016

    The Law School’s National Moot Court Competition teams achieved outstanding results at the Region 14 tournament at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa, this past weekend, sweeping the best brief awards and sending one team on to the national finals.


E.g., Mar 28 2017
E.g., Mar 28 2017

Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-1000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media