• Professor Susanna Blumenthal

    Prof. Blumenthal Wins Second Major Book Award

    May 18, 2017

    Cheiron: The International Society for the History of Behavioral and Social Sciences has awarded its 2017 Cheiron Book Prize to Professor Susanna Blumenthal for Law and the Modern Mind: Consciousness and Responsibility in American Legal Culture (Harvard University Press, 2016).

  • Law School Commencement 2017

    Law School Honors Class of 2017 at 129th Commencement Exercises

    May 16, 2017

    The University of Minnesota Law School held its 129th commencement ceremony May 13 at Northrop Memorial Auditorium. Dean Garry Jenkins welcomed the J.D., LL.M.​,​ and M.S.P.L.

  • Class of 2017 award recipients on Stein Plaza

    Class of 2017 Students Honored at Awards Ceremony

    May 15, 2017

    The Law School welcomed graduates and their families for the 2017 Student Awards and Recognition Ceremony, held at 2 p.m. on May 12 in Lockhart Hall. The event acknowledged outstanding student achievement among those in the Class of 2017, prior to the May 13 commencement.

  • Professor Benjamin Casper Sanchez (’97)

    Prof. Casper Sanchez (’97) Wins AILA Excellence in Teaching Award

    May 12, 2017

    The American Immigration Lawyers Association has named Professor Benjamin Casper Sanchez (’97) the winner of its 2017 Elmer Fried Excellence in Teaching Award. Casper Sanchez is the director of the Law School’s James H. Binger Center for New Americans and the professor of the Center’s Federal Immigration Litigation Clinic.

  • Aleida Ortega Conners (’13)

    Aleida Ortega Conners (’13) Named President-Elect of the Minnesota Hispanic Bar Association

    May 10, 2017

    Aleida Ortega Conners (’13) has been named president-elect of the Minnesota Hispanic Bar Association, which was founded in 1991 to organize Hispanic attorneys, judges, law students, and other concerned members of the Hispanic community into a force for professional and community benefit.

  • Hon. David R. Stras

    Former Law School Professor David R. Stras Nominated to 8th Circuit Court of Appeals

    May 9, 2017

    David R. Stras, an associate justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court and a former professor at the Law School, was nominated on Monday to the United States Court of Appeals for the 8th Circuit by President Donald Trump.

  • Career Center staff

    Career Center Named Outstanding University Unit by P&A Senate

    May 4, 2017

    The Law School Career Center has been selected as the 2017 recipient of the P&A Senate Outstanding Unit Award. The award, given annually by the University’s Academic Professionals and Administrators Senate, recognizes a University unit that is exemplary in its support of professional and administrative staff and the role they fulfill in advancing the University’s mission.

  • Professor Robert A. Stein ('61)

    Prof. Stein (’61) to Receive 2017 University President’s Award for Outstanding Service

    May 2, 2017

    Robert A. Stein (’61), the Everett Fraser Professor of Law at the Law School, is among the recipients of the 2017 University of Minnesota President’s Award for Outstanding Service.

  • Jessica J.W. Maher (’99)

    Jessica J.W. Maher (’99) Appointed Judge in Minnesota’s 1st District

    April 27, 2017

    Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton has appointed Jessica J.W. Maher (’99) to serve as a district judge in the state’s 1st Judicial District, which encompasses Carver, Dakota, Goodhue, Le Sueur, McLeod, Scott, and Sibley counties.

  • Professor Alexandra B. Klass

    Prof. Klass Receives Distinguished Service Award from MSBA

    April 27, 2017

    The Minnesota State Bar Association has announced that Alexandra Klass, a Distinguished McKnight University Professor at the Law School, has been awarded the 2017 Eldon G. Kaul Distinguished Service Award from the MSBA’s Environmental, Natural Resource, and Energy Law Section.


E.g., Feb 20 2018
E.g., Feb 20 2018

Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-1000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media