News Section Header


  • Left to right: Allison Rochford ('16), Marc Shinn-Krantz ('16), Drew Glasnovich ('16), Chelsea Lemke ('16), Katarina Lee ('16), Kyle Kroll ('16)

    Six Students to Receive President’s Student Leadership and Service Award

    April 25, 2016

    University President Eric Kaler’s office has announced that six third-year Law School students—Drew Glasnovich, Kyle Kroll, Katarina Lee, Chelsea Lemke, Allison Rochford, and Marc Shinn-Krantz—are among the winners of the 2016 President’s Student Leadership and Service Award (PSLSA).

  • Prof. Perry Moriearty

    Prof. Perry Moriearty to Receive Top Clinical Teaching Award

    April 23, 2016

    The Association of American Law Schools’ Section on Clinical Legal Education has selected Professor Perry Moriearty as the recipient of its 2016 Shanara Gilbert Award.

  • Former Dean Carl Auerbach

    Law School Mourns the Passing of Former Dean Carl Auerbach

    April 20, 2016

    Carl Auerbach, who served as dean of the Law School from 1972-79 and was the driving force behind the building of Mondale Hall, passed away on April 6 in La Jolla, Calif., after a short illness. He was 100 years old.

  • Law School News

    Law School Journals Climb in Key Rankings

    April 19, 2016

    The University of Minnesota Law School made a strong showing in the prestigious law journal rankings recently released by Washington and Lee University School of Law. The rankings, which encompass more than 1,500 journals, consider articles published in the preceding eight years and how many times they have been cited in other journal articles or in federal and state court cases.  

  • Anne Dutton (’16)

    Anne Dutton (’16) Argues High-Stakes Asylum Case Before 9th Circuit Court of Appeals

    April 14, 2016

    On April 6, Anne Dutton (’16) presented oral argument before a three-judge panel of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 9th Circuit in Wilfredo Garay-Reyes v. Loretta E. Lynch, U.S. Attorney General. The case has attracted national attention, and its outcome could affect thousands of asylum seekers fleeing gang-related persecution in Central America.

  • Center For New Americans

    Law School, ACLU, Dorsey & Whitney Challenge Unlawful Detention of Immigrants

    April 12, 2016

    The Law School’s Center for New Americans, the American Civil Liberties Union of Minnesota, and Dorsey & Whitney filed a class action lawsuit challenging the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) practice of continuing to detain immigrants for months, even after an immigration judge has ruled they cannot be deported to their home countries.

  • Dean David Wippman to Be Honored for Human Rights Work

    April 12, 2016

    The Advocates for Human Rights has announced that it will present Dean David Wippman with its 2016 Special Recognition Award in honor of his career-long human rights work and his stewardship in the creation of the Law School’s pioneering Center for New Americans.

  • Law School

    Dean Candidates Announced

    April 8, 2016

    On behalf of Provost Karen Hanson, we write with an update about the University’s search for a new dean of the Law School.

  • Chris Wysokinski (’16)

    Krzysztof Wysokinski (’16) Wins State Bar Association Service Award

    April 4, 2016

    Krzysztof “Chris” Wysokinski (’16) has been named the winner of the 2016 Bernard P.

  • Bridgid E. Dowdal ('94)

    Bridgid E. Dowdal (’94) Appointed Judge in Minnesota's 10th District

    April 1, 2016

    Bridgid E. Dowdal (’94) has been appointed by Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton to serve as a district court judge in the state’s 10th Judicial District. The 10th Judicial District includes Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Pine, Sherburne, Washington, and Wright Counties.


E.g., Mar 28 2017
E.g., Mar 28 2017

Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-1000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media