• Steve Simon (’96)

    Steve Simon (’96) Elected Minnesota Secretary of State

    November 24, 2014

    Steve Simon (’96) was elected Minnesota Secretary of State earlier this month, winning a close race by a margin of 22,000 out of 1.9 million votes cast. He will take office in January.

  • Left to right: Meghan Heesch, Maya Tao (’15), Shelby Deckert (’16), and Jill Jensen (’16)

    Detainee Rights Clinic Students Secure New Hearing for Nevada Client

    November 20, 2014

    Student attorneys in the University of Minnesota Law School’s Detainee Rights Clinic have secured a remand from the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA) for a client who had been detained in the state of Nevada.

  • Kristi Rudelius-Palmer

    Kristi Rudelius-Palmer, HRC Co-Director, Participates in Mock U.S. Senate Hearing on Children’s Rights Legislation in Boston

    November 20, 2014

    On Nov. 20, the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child celebrated its 25th anniversary. In honor of this milestone, Kristi Rudelius-Palmer, co-director of the Human Rights Center, and the Law School’s Fulbright Humphrey Fellow Vered Windman, participated in a mock U.S. Senate hearing on children’s rights legislation at the Edward M. Kennedy Institute in Boston, which will officially open in March. The institute has a replica of the U.S. Senate Chambers where the simulation with 30 teachers took place. “We need to have our young people become more civically engaged, active leaders, fostering societies based on principles and practices of equality, non-discrimination, non-violence, and responsibility around the globe,” Rudelius-Palmer said.

  • Tim Looby (’82)

    Tim Looby (’82) Appointed Judge in Minnesota's First District

    November 12, 2014

    Tim Looby (’82) has been appointed by Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton to serve as a judge in the state’s First Judicial District. He replaces Judge Thomas McCarthy, who retired. The First Judicial District, with 36 judges, more than 250 staff employees, and an annual caseload topping 150,000, encompasses a seven-county area just south of the Twin Cities. Looby’s investiture ceremony was held Oct. 24.

  • Sara Sommarstrom (’05) and George Byron "Geordie" Griffiths (’15)

    Sara Sommarstrom (’05) and George Byron Griffiths (’15) to Be Honored by Minnesota Justice Foundation

    October 28, 2014

    The Minnesota Justice Foundation (MJF) has announced that among the recipients of its Outstanding Service Awards this year will be Law School alumna Sara Sommarstrom (‘05) and third-year law student George Byron “Geordie” Griffiths. The awards will be presented at the MJF Annual Awards Celebration on November 19.

  • News

    Three Law School Alumni Honored in University's China 100 Celebration

    October 24, 2014

    In 1914, three students from China—Pan Wen Huen, Pan Wen Ping, and Kwong Yi Kum—enrolled at the University of Minnesota. Today, the University hosts more than 2,200 students and scholars from China each year. China 100 is the University’s yearlong celebration honoring those first Chinese students and the wealth of connections that have come in the century since.

  • Institute on Metropolitan Opportunity

    IMO Study Shows Chicago Charter Schools Underperform their Traditional Counterparts

    October 13, 2014

    A new study by the Institute on Metropolitan Opportunity (IMO) at the University of Minnesota Law School showed that charter schools in Chicago underperform comparable traditional public schools and are more highly segregated by race. The analysis used comprehensive data for Chicago schools in 2012-13 and controlled for the mix of students and other challenges faced by individual schools.

  • Professor David Weissbrodt

    Prof. David Weissbrodt Wins Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award

    October 1, 2014

    David Weissbrodt, founder and co-director of the Human Rights Center, a member of the Law School faculty since 1975 and a local, national, and global leader in human rights advocacy, has been named a 2014 recipient of the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award. The honor recognizes educators who have inspired their former students to “create an organization which has demonstrably conferred a benefit on the community at large.”

  • Professor Heidi Kitrosser

    Prof. Heidi Kitrosser's New Book Wins Civil Liberties Prize

    September 25, 2014

    Professor Heidi Kitrosser’s forthcoming book, Reclaiming Accountability: Transparency, Executive Power, and the U.S. Constitution, has been named the recipient of the 2014 IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law/Roy C. Palmer Civil Liberties Prize. The book will be published in January by the University of Chicago Press.

  • Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

    Wise, Witty, and “Notorious”: Justice Ginsburg in Conversation at the Law School

    September 18, 2014

    If you want to make Ruth Bader Ginsburg smile, wear clothing based on her social media meme. The U.S. Supreme Court justice has inspired “Notorious R.B.G.,” a Tumblr dedicated to all things Ginsburg. In one image on the site, she is pictured wearing a rakish crown in the style of the rapper Notorious B.I.G.


E.g., Feb 23 2018
E.g., Feb 23 2018

Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-1000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media