• Prof. Ann Burkhart

    Prof. Ann Burkhart to Receive University’s Graduate-Professional Teaching Award

    February 26, 2016

    Ann Burkhart, the Curtis Bradbury Kellar Professor of Law, has been chosen to receive a 2016 University of Minnesota Award for Outstanding Contributions to Postbaccalaureate, Graduate, and Professional Education. This honor, also known as the Graduate-Professional Award, is given to no more than eight University professors each year.

  • University of Minnesota Law School

    Students, Faculty and Legal Partners Featured in Minnesota Lawyer

    February 22, 2016

    Minnesota Lawyer writer Mike Mosedale recounts the experience of law students, faculty and legal partners of the Center for New Americans who visited Dilley, Texas over winter break to help detainees facing deportation. The legal team from Minnesota were scheduled for pro bono work when their visit coincided with the controversial raids of legal immigrants over New Years.

  • Samuel D. Heins (’72)

    Samuel D. Heins (’72) Confirmed as Ambassador to Norway

    February 16, 2016

    The U.S. Senate has confirmed the nomination of Samuel D. Heins (’72) as the United States ambassador to the Kingdom of Norway. Heins was nominated to the ambassadorship by President Obama in May 2015.

  • Keiko L. Sugisaka ('96)

    Keiko L. Sugisaka (’96) Named to Minnesota Commission on Judicial Selection

    February 5, 2016

    Governor Mark Dayton has announced the appointment of Keiko L. Sugisaka (’96) to a three-year term as an at-large member of the state’s Commission on Judicial Selection. The commission solicits judicial candidates, evaluates applicants, and recommends nominees to the governor.

  • Joy Wang ('16)

    Joy (Shuangqi) Wang (’16) Part of Winning Team in 2016 U of M Global Health Case Competition

    February 4, 2016

    Joint-degree candidate Joy (Shuangqi) Wang, who expects to receive both her J.D. and her M.P.H. in environmental health this May, is a member of a six-student team that recently won first place in the 2016 University of Minnesota Global Health Case Competition.

  • Diane B. Bratvold (’87)

    Diane B. Bratvold (’87) Named to Minnesota Court of Appeals

    January 25, 2016

    Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton has appointed Diane B. Bratvold (’87) to the Minnesota Court of Appeals, replacing Judge Margaret H. Chutich, whom Dayton has named to the Minnesota Supreme Court. Bratvold has served as a judge in the state’s 4th Judicial District since 2014.

  • Professor Joan Howland

    Prof. Joan Howland Named One of “Most Influential People in Legal Education”

    January 22, 2016

    The National Jurist has named Professor Joan Howland to its annual list of the 25 most influential figures in American legal education. Howland, who holds the Law School’s Roger F.

  • Left to right: Tracie Keesee, Professor Mark Kappelhoff, Justice Alan Page ('78) and Dean David Wippman

    “Echoes of Birmingham” Is Theme for Law School Convocation

    January 21, 2016

    Race, police-community trust, and the criminal justice system were on the minds of speakers at “Echoes of Birmingham: Dr. King’s Legacy in Today’s Minnesota,” a Jan. 19 event sponsored by the Law School Diversity Committee.

  • Associate Professor Neha Jain

    Neha Jain Named McKnight Land-Grant Professor

    January 21, 2016

    The Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost has announced that Associate Professor Neha Jain has been named a 2016-2018 McKnight Land-Grant Professor. Jain is one of just eight University of Minnesota faculty members selected this year for the honor.

  • Michael Rothman ('88)

    Obama Names Mike Rothman (’88) to Insurance Regulatory Post

    January 15, 2016

    The White House has announced President Obama’s nomination of Mike Rothman (’88) to a seat on the board of directors of the National Association of Registered Agents and Brokers (NARAB). Rothman is the current commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Commerce, having been appointed to that post by Gov. Mark Dayton in 2011.


E.g., Jul 3 2020
E.g., Jul 3 2020

Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-5000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media