• Nikki Farago (’07)

    Nikki Farago (’07) Named Minnesota’s Deputy Assistant Commissioner of Children and Family Services

    May 11, 2016

    The Minnesota Department of Human Services has named Nikki Farago (’07) the deputy assistant commissioner of its Children and Family Services (CFS) program. CFS is responsible for adoption, foster care, child care, child support, adolescent services, public assistance, child protection, refugee resettlement, economic opportunities, and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program.

  • Gail T. Kulick (’85)

    Gail T. Kulick (’85) Appointed Judge in Minnesota’s 7th District

    May 11, 2016

    Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton has appointed Gail T. Kulick (’85) to serve as a judge in the state’s 7th Judicial District, which consists of Becker, Benton, Clay, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, and Wadena Counties. In making the appointment, Dayton said, “Throughout her distinguished career, Gail T. Kulick has proven herself committed to justice for all Minnesotans.

  • Heather Abraham (’12)

    Heather Abraham (’12) Awarded Equal Justice Works Fellowship

    May 10, 2016

    Heather Abraham (’12) has been awarded a two-year postgraduate fellowship through Equal Justice Works, a nonprofit organization whose mission is “mobilizing the next generation of lawyers committed to equal justice.” Abraham will spend the term of her fellowship at Legal Services of Northern Michigan, in Traverse City, representing homeless adults and low-income renters at imminent risk of home

  • Mark Kappelhoff

    Prof. Mark Kappelhoff Appointed Judge in Minnesota’s 4th District

    May 9, 2016

    Governor Mark Dayton has appointed University of Minnesota Law School Professor Mark Kappelhoff to serve as a judge in Minnesota’s 4th Judicial District. The district, encompassing Hennepin County, is the state’s largest trial court. In appointing Kappelhoff, Dayton praised his “deep commitment to justice and public service.”

  • Beth M. Andrus ('88)

    Beth M. Andrus (’88) Nominated to U.S. District Court Bench

    April 28, 2016

    President Obama has nominated Beth M. Andrus (’88) to serve on the United States District Court for the Western District of Washington. Andrus is currently a judge in Washington state’s King County Superior Court, a position she has held since 2010.

  • Left to right: Allison Rochford ('16), Marc Shinn-Krantz ('16), Drew Glasnovich ('16), Chelsea Lemke ('16), Katarina Lee ('16), Kyle Kroll ('16)

    Six Students to Receive President’s Student Leadership and Service Award

    April 25, 2016

    University President Eric Kaler’s office has announced that six third-year Law School students—Drew Glasnovich, Kyle Kroll, Katarina Lee, Chelsea Lemke, Allison Rochford, and Marc Shinn-Krantz—are among the winners of the 2016 President’s Student Leadership and Service Award (PSLSA).

  • Prof. Perry Moriearty

    Prof. Perry Moriearty to Receive Top Clinical Teaching Award

    April 23, 2016

    The Association of American Law Schools’ Section on Clinical Legal Education has selected Professor Perry Moriearty as the recipient of its 2016 Shanara Gilbert Award.

  • Former Dean Carl Auerbach

    Law School Mourns the Passing of Former Dean Carl Auerbach

    April 20, 2016

    Carl Auerbach, who served as dean of the Law School from 1972-79 and was the driving force behind the building of Mondale Hall, passed away on April 6 in La Jolla, Calif., after a short illness. He was 100 years old.

  • Law School News

    Law School Journals Climb in Key Rankings

    April 19, 2016

    The University of Minnesota Law School made a strong showing in the prestigious law journal rankings recently released by Washington and Lee University School of Law. The rankings, which encompass more than 1,500 journals, consider articles published in the preceding eight years and how many times they have been cited in other journal articles or in federal and state court cases.  

  • Anne Dutton (’16)

    Anne Dutton (’16) Argues High-Stakes Asylum Case Before 9th Circuit Court of Appeals

    April 14, 2016

    On April 6, Anne Dutton (’16) presented oral argument before a three-judge panel of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 9th Circuit in Wilfredo Garay-Reyes v. Loretta E. Lynch, U.S. Attorney General. The case has attracted national attention, and its outcome could affect thousands of asylum seekers fleeing gang-related persecution in Central America.


E.g., Jan 18 2021
E.g., Jan 18 2021

Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-5000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media