• Center For New Americans

    Law School, ACLU, Dorsey & Whitney Challenge Unlawful Detention of Immigrants

    April 12, 2016

    The Law School’s Center for New Americans, the American Civil Liberties Union of Minnesota, and Dorsey & Whitney filed a class action lawsuit challenging the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) practice of continuing to detain immigrants for months, even after an immigration judge has ruled they cannot be deported to their home countries.

  • Dean David Wippman to Be Honored for Human Rights Work

    April 12, 2016

    The Advocates for Human Rights has announced that it will present Dean David Wippman with its 2016 Special Recognition Award in honor of his career-long human rights work and his stewardship in the creation of the Law School’s pioneering Center for New Americans.

  • Law School

    Dean Candidates Announced

    April 8, 2016

    On behalf of Provost Karen Hanson, we write with an update about the University’s search for a new dean of the Law School.

  • Chris Wysokinski (’16)

    Krzysztof Wysokinski (’16) Wins State Bar Association Service Award

    April 4, 2016

    Krzysztof “Chris” Wysokinski (’16) has been named the winner of the 2016 Bernard P.

  • Bridgid E. Dowdal ('94)

    Bridgid E. Dowdal (’94) Appointed Judge in Minnesota's 10th District

    April 1, 2016

    Bridgid E. Dowdal (’94) has been appointed by Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton to serve as a district court judge in the state’s 10th Judicial District. The 10th Judicial District includes Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Pine, Sherburne, Washington, and Wright Counties.

  • Professor Kristin Hickman

    Prof. Kristin Hickman Named Distinguished McKnight University Professor

    March 31, 2016

    The Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost has announced that Professor Kristin E. Hickman has been named a Distinguished McKnight University Professor—one of just seven University of Minnesota faculty members to receive the distinction this year.

  • James Meinert ('17) and Kyle Kroll ('16)

    Two Law School Students Win Bloomberg Writing Awards

    March 25, 2016

    James Meinert (’17) and Kyle Kroll (’16) snared top honors in the 2016 Bloomberg Law Write-On Competition, winning $2,500 each in the nationwide contest. The competition puts a premium on clear and concise writing, as entries must run between 1,000 and 1,600 words.

  • Anne Dutton, Griffin Ferry, and Dane Rockow

    Law School Team Wins Clara Barton International Humanitarian Law Competition

    March 21, 2016

    A team of three students from the Law School has won the 2016 Clara Barton International Humanitarian Law Competition, which is conducted by the American Red Cross. Team members Anne Dutton, Griffin Ferry, and Dane Rockow, all 3Ls, traveled to Seattle for the competition, defeating the team from Harvard Law School in the final round.

  • Texas Young Lawyers Competition Mock Trial Moot Court Group Photo

    Mock Trial and Moot Court Teams Hit the Road for Competitions

    March 9, 2016

    Mock trial and moot court teams from the Law School were extremely busy in late February, traveling near and far for national competitions.

  • Rajin Olson ('16)

    Rajin S. Olson (’16) Named to ‘National Jurist’ List of Outstanding Law Students

    March 8, 2016

    The National Jurist has named Rajin S. Olson (’16) to its inaugural “Law Students of the Year” feature. The magazine asked more than 200 law schools for “stories of their most devoted students with unparalleled attitudes” and selected 25 individuals from among the nominees, based on such factors as leadership, focus, and commitment to justice.


E.g., Jan 18 2021
E.g., Jan 18 2021

Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-5000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media