• Paul R. Scoggin (’84)

    Paul R. Scoggin (’84) Appointed Judge in Minnesota's 4th District

    June 3, 2015

    Paul R. Scoggin (’84) has been appointed by Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton to serve as a judge in the state’s 4th Judicial District, replacing Judge Marilyn B. Rosenbaum, who retired. “The people of the 4th Judicial District will be well served by Paul Scoggin’s extensive legal experience and long history of public service,” said Dayton in making the appointment. “I thank Mr. Scoggin for his willingness to continue serving the public, after having already spent 30 years in the Hennepin County Attorney’s Office.”

  • Moones Mellouli

    SCOTUS Immigration Victory for Innovative Law School Program: The Center for New Americans

    June 2, 2015

    On June 1, the U.S. Supreme Court issued its opinion in Mellouli v. Holder, handing a victory to Moones Mellouli, a pro bono client represented jointly by the University of Minnesota Law School’s Center for New Americans, Faegre Baker Daniels and the Immigrant Law Center of Minnesota (ILCM). The decision is an early milestone for a unique law school program created to transform U.S. immigration policy through partnerships with law firms and non-profit immigration legal service providers.

  • 2015 Commencement

    Law School Honors Class of 2015 at 127th Commencement Exercises

    May 20, 2015

    The University of Minnesota Law School held its 127th commencement ceremony May 16 at Northrop Memorial Auditorium. Dean David Wippman welcomed the Class of 2015, their families and friends, and several special guests: University of Minnesota Regent Darrin Rosha (’96), general manager and corporate counsel for Crutchfield Dermatology in Eagan, Minn.; Allen Levine, the University’s vice provost for faculty and academic affairs; and the keynote speaker, Minnesota Supreme Court Justice Alan C. Page (’78).

  • Khary Hornsby (’05)

    Khary Hornsby (’05) Receives Global Engagement Award

    May 19, 2015

    Khary D. Hornsby (’05), director of international and graduate programs at the Law School, has been honored with a 2015 Award for Global Engagement by the University’s Global Programs and Strategy Alliance office. This award is given to faculty and staff to acknowledge exceptional achievements in and contributions to global education, research, and engagement on behalf of the University.

  • John D. Gould (’53)

    Law School Mourns the Passing of John D. Gould (’53)

    May 19, 2015

    John D. Gould (’53), a founder of the Minneapolis-based intellectual property law firm Merchant & Gould and a leading figure in the legal community for six decades, died May 13 in St. Paul. He was 88.

  • Class of 2015 award recipients gather on Stein Plaza following the ceremony.

    Class of 2015 Students Honored at Awards Ceremony

    May 18, 2015

    The Law School welcomed graduates and their families for the 2015 Student Awards and Recognition Ceremony, held at 2:00 p.m., May 15 in Lockhart Hall. The event acknowledged outstanding student achievement among those in the Class of 2015, prior to the May 16 Commencement.

  • Samuel D. Heins (’72)

    Samuel D. Heins (’72) Nominated Ambassador to Norway

    May 14, 2015

    The White House announced yesterday that President Obama has nominated Samuel D. Heins (’72) as the United States ambassador to the Kingdom of Norway. Heins will appear before the Senate Foreign Relations Committee before the full Senate votes on his confirmation.

  • Samuel Jackson (’16) and Jeffrey Bruno (’16)

    Jeffrey Bruno (’16) and Samuel Jackson (’16) Awarded Peggy Browning Fellowship

    May 8, 2015

    Class of 2016 students Jeffrey Bruno and Samuel Jackson have each been awarded, through a highly competitive process among more than 400 law student applicants nationwide, a prestigious 10-week Peggy Browning summer 2015 fellowship in public interest labor law.

  • Professor Suzanne Thorpe (’89)

    Prof. Suzanne Thorpe (’89) Receives President's Service Award

    April 30, 2015

    Suzanne Thorpe (’89), professor of legal research instruction at the Law School, has been named a recipient of the University of Minnesota 2015 President’s Award for Outstanding Service. The award, established in 1997 to honor those whose service to the University community has “gone well beyond the regular duties of a faculty or staff member,” is presented to approximately 12 individuals each year.

  • John W. Mooty (’44)

    Law School Mourns the Death of John W. Mooty (’44)

    April 23, 2015

    John W. Mooty, who graduated first in his Law School class (’44) and became a first-class leader in law, business and philanthropy, died April 17, 2015, in Edina, Minn. He was 92.


E.g., Sep 29 2020
E.g., Sep 29 2020

Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-5000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media