Go to the U of M home page.
Institute for Law and Economics logo

Home > IFLE > Past Events > Spring '10 Seminar

Spring 2010 Seminar
Critical Perspectives on Law and Economics

Meeting Mondays, 3:35 – 5:30 p.m.
University of Minnesota Law School, Mondale Hall, Room 35

Sponsored by the Institute for Law & Economics and the Institute for Law & Rationality 

 

[Student Syllabus]

*****

Monday, January 25, 3:35 - 5:30 Prof. Claire Hill, University of Minnesota Law School

Monday, February 1, 3:35 - 5:30 Prof. Claire Hill, University of Minnesota Law School

Monday, February 8, 3:35 – 5:30 Prof. Dan Schwarcz, University of Minnesota Law School
Topic: Paternalism and Emotion in Insurance Markets [Paper]

Monday, February 15 - LAW SCHOOL WINTER BREAK

Monday, February 22 - Seminar to take place on Thursday Feb. 25, 12:15 pm in the Lindquist & Vennum Conference Room (3rd floor)

Thursday, February 25, 12:15 - 1:15 – Prof. Cheryl Boudreau, University of California at Davis, Political Science (co-sponsored with the Institute for Law and Politics)
Topic: Making Talk Cheap (and Problems Easy): How Legal and Political Institutions Can Facilitate Consensus [Paper]

Monday, March 1, 3:35 - 5:30 – Prof. Bart Wilson, Chapman University School of Law, and Argyros School of Business and Economics
Topic: Exchange, Theft, and the Social Formation of Property [paper]

Monday, March 8, 3:35 - 5:30  – Prof. Victor Fleischer, University of Colorado School of Law
Topic: Regulatory Arbitrage [paper]

Monday, March 15 - SPRING BREAK

Monday, March 22, 3:35 - 5:30 – David G. Rand, Harvard University Mathematical Biology Program for Evolutionary Dynamics
Topic: Positive Interactions Promote Public Cooperation [paper] [commentary]

Monday, March 29, 3:35 - 5:30 – Prof. Francesco Parisi, University of Minnesota Law School and Prof. Barbara Luppi, University of Modena
Topic: Forgiving Overconfidence in Tort Law [paper]

Monday, April 5, 2010, 3:35 - 5:30 – Prof. Adam Kolber, University of San Diego School of Law
Topic: The Experiential Future of the Law [paper]

Friday, April 9, 2010, 3:35 - 5:30 – Lt. Col. William Casebeer, United States Air Force - Room 65
Topic: Just War Theory and the Purposed of Military Intelligence: Formulating an Ethic of Intelligence [Abstract]

Monday, April 12 - Seminar to take place on Thursday April 15, 12:15 pm in the Lindquist & Vennum Conference Room (3rd floor)

Thursday, April 15, 12:15 - 1:15 – Prof. John Mikhail, Georgetown Law
Topic: Unreasonable Risk: A Formal Analysis and Critical History of Common Law Negligence [paper is work in process and not available] 

Monday, April 19, 3:35 - 5:30 – Prof. Richard McAdams, University of Chicago, The Law School
Topic: The Expressive Powers of Law [paper is work in process and not available]

Monday, April 26, 3:35 - 5:30 – Prof. Kathleen Vohs, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota
Topic: The Value of Believing in Free Will-Encouraging a Belief in Determinism Increases Cheating [paper]

Wednesday, April 28, 3:35 - 5:30 - Prof. Claire Hill, University of Minnesota Law School

 

 

 

 

 
Law and Economics logo