Go to the U of M home page.

Home > News & Events > More News

Law School News

for April, 2014

Third Annual Patent Symposium to Examine Non-Practicing Entities

April 22, 2014

The University of Minnesota Law School and Briggs and Morgan are co-sponsoring the Third Annual Patent Symposium, "Non-Practicing Entities: Abusive 'Patent Trolls' or Free Enterprise Drivers of Innovation?" from 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 21, in Lockhart Hall (Room 25).

Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program Celebrates its 35th Year

April 15, 2014

During the weekend of April 25-27, 2014, the University of Minnesota Law School and Humphrey School of Public Affairs will commemorate the 35th Anniversary of the Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program with a series of public and private events.

Lauren Beach ('12) Named One of "Ten Outstanding Young Americans" by U.S. Jaycees

April 11, 2014

It may be the only honor that has been shared by Elvis Presley, John F. Kennedy, and Richard Nixon—not to mention Bill Clinton, Orson Welles, Dick Cheney, and Susan Butcher. Now Lauren Beach, a 2012 graduate of the University of Minnesota Law School and a current Ph.D. candidate at the University, has joined this distinguished and eclectic group, having been named to the United States Junior Chamber's 2014 list of the 10 men and women under age 40 "who best exemplify the highest attributes of the nation's emerging generation."

Study Shows Unequal Treatment of Twin Cities Communities of Color in Mortgage Lending Continues

April 9, 2014

A new study by the Institute on Metropolitan Opportunity (IMO) at the University of Minnesota Law School shows that lack of access to credit continues to plague communities of color and low-income areas in the Twin Cities. Income differences alone do not explain the lending disparities. If the home loan portfolios of the region's banks simply reflected the actual distribution of homeowners and household incomes, more than 13,300 additional loans would have been made to diverse and majority non-white neighborhoods over the four years from 2009 to 2012 (a 55% increase). Nearly one-fourth of this shortfall is attributable to the region's largest lender, Wells Fargo Bank.

Toni Haraldsen ('14) to Receive Mary A. McEvoy Award for Public Engagement and Leadership

April 7, 2014

The University of Minnesota Graduate and Professional Student Assembly has announced that Toni Haraldsen ('14) has been chosen as a recipient of the Mary A. McEvoy Award for Public Engagement and Leadership. This University-wide honor is given to one graduate and one professional student each year and carries a $1,000 scholarship. The award recognizes students who have demonstrated dedication and assistance that benefit an individual, a group, or a community, or that strengthen a democratic way of life. Haraldsen will receive her award and deliver a brief speech at the President's Student Leadership and Service Award Banquet, to be held April 30 in the Great Hall of Coffman Memorial Union.

Law School Announces New Master of Science in Patent Law Program

April 7, 2014

Beginning next fall, the Law School will offer a one-year Master of Science in Patent Law Program specifically for scientists and engineers. Developed by Associate Dean Sharon Reich Paulsen and Professors Tom Cotter, William McGeveran and Ruth Okediji, the unique program will prepare students for a variety of careers, including patent prosecution, portfolio management, technology licensing and innovation. Chris Frank, who holds a B.S. in chemical engineering and a J.D. from William Mitchell College of Law, has been hired as director. His previous experience includes patent prosecution and portfolio management for clients ranging from individual inventors to Fortune 500 corporations.

Student-led Seminar Publishes Op-Ed on Bullying in Star Tribune

April 3, 2014

The Star Tribune published an op-ed by Student Speech: Rights and Regulations, a student-led seminar at the Law School. The op-ed described Minnesota's antibullying law and how it relates to student bullying that occurs online and off campus.