Go to the U of M home page.

Dean Search Committee Announces Dean Finalists

Nearing the end of a process that began in May, the University of Minnesota Law School Dean Search Committee has selected five finalists for the position of Law School dean, say committee co-chairs Law School Professor Kevin Reitz and Alison Davis-Blake, Carlson School of Management dean.

The interviewing process will begin on Monday, Nov. 12. The committee then will make recommendations toward a final selection to Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost E. Thomas Sullivan, who will select the next dean. The finalists, whose CVs and biographies are available below, are:

  • Nora V. Demleitner
    Interim Dean and Professor, Hofstra University School of Law, Hempstead, N.Y.
    Bio (web)
    On-site interviews November 12–13.
    Town Hall meeting November 12, 3:00–4:00 p.m., Room 25
  • Gregory Alan Hicks
    Interim Dean and Professor, University of Washington School of Law, Seattle
    Bio (web)
    On-site interviews November 28–29.
    Town Hall meeting November 29, 12:15–1:15 p.m., Room 50
  • Edward J. Larson
    Hugh & Hazel Darling Professor of Law and University Professor of History, Pepperdine University, Malibu, Calif.
    Bio (web)
    On-site interviews November 19–20.
    Town Hall meeting November 19, 3:00–4:00 p.m., Room 25
  • Leon Trakman
    Immediate Past Dean and Professor, Faculty of Law, University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia
    Bio (web)
    On-site interviews December 4–5.
    Town Hall meeting December 5, 12:15–1:15 p.m., Room 25
  • David Wippman
    Vice Provost for International Relations and Professor of Law, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.
    Bio (web)
    On-site interviews November 26–27.
    Town Hall meeting November 27, 12:15–1:15 p.m., Room 25

"The finalists possess an extraordinary range and depth of academic strength, leadership experience, and insight into legal education in the 21st century," says Reitz.

They will visit the Law School in the coming weeks. The schedule has not been finalized, but tentative plans are under way to welcome one finalist during each of the following periods: November 12 and 13, November 19 and 20, November 26 and 27, November 28 and 29, and December 4 and 5.

The 13-member search committee is composed of Law School faculty, a faculty member from outside of the Law School, a staff representative, a student representative, and alumnus Walter Mondale.

The committee reviewed dozens of nominations and applications since the position was advertised in May.

"I'm extremely pleased to be part of such a thorough, thoughtful, and collegial process," says Davis-Blake. "Each finalist brings an extraordinary leadership record; so much so that each was unanimously endorsed by our search committee."

The dean will report to Provost Sullivan and will succeed interim co-deans Fred L. Morrison and Guy-Uriel E. Charles, who stepped into the role June 1, 2006, after the resignation of Alex M. Johnson Jr.

For further information, please view the official press release (PDF), and return to the main dean search web page.