Class of 2019 Honored at Awards Ceremony

May 18, 2019

The Law School welcomed graduates and their families for the 2019 Student Awards and Recognition Ceremony, held at 2 p.m. on May 17 iat the Law School. The event acknowledged outstanding student achievement among those in the Class of 2019, prior to the May 18 commencement.

The Law School Public Service Program

Among this year’s graduating class, 66 students completed the 50-hour challenge in the Public Service Program, and 21 of those performed 100 or more hours of law-related volunteer service. Founded in 1999, the program, in collaboration with the Minnesota Justice Foundation, Minnesota law schools, the Minnesota State Bar Association, and more than 40 legal service providers, challenges law students to contribute at least 50 hours of law-related public service during their study years.

Presented Student Awards and Honors

American Bankruptcy Institute 2019 Medal of Excellence: Charles Shafer

American Law Institute—Continuing Legal Education 2019 Scholarship & Leadership Award: Kayla Hoel

Steven M. Block Prize: Torie Abbott Watkins

University of Minnesota Human Rights Law Award: Mariah Claire Gatzow, Emily Ortlieb Ricciardi

Sidney J. Kaplan Legal Scholarship Fund: R. David Hahn

Mondale Hall Engagement Award: Kathryn M. Bjorklund, Robby Dube, Zachary James Hofeld, Melanie A. Johnson, Ellen Levish, Joshua Preston

National Association of Women Lawyers Award: Sammi Nachtigal

Charles Nauen and Pati Jo Pofahl Environmental and Energy Law Student Award: Joshua M. Greenberg

Other Awards and Honors (Presented on Another Date)

American Bar Association Forum on Affordable Housing and Community Development Writing Award: Derek Waller

Burton Distinguished Legal Writing Award: R. David Hahn

Class of 2019 Awards:

  • Most Outstanding Contribution: Robby Dube
  • Excellence in Public Service: Alicia Granse

Clinical Legal Education Association (CLEA) Outstanding Service Award: Alex Eschenroeder

Harold Will Cox Award: Christopher Conway

Federal Bar Association Foundation’s Judge Edward J. Devitt Award: Ellen E. Hunt

Gellhorn-Sargentich Law Student Essay Award: R. David Hahn

Law and Inequality: A Journal of Theory & Practice Outstanding Editor Award: Katie Sreenan

Minnesota Journal of International Law Outstanding Editor Award: Jiang Bian

Minnesota Journal of Law, Science & Technology: Outstanding Editor Award: Brandy Hough

Dorothy O. Lareau Writing Awards: Paul Dimick, Frances Reka Fink, Nicole Heringer, Alanna N. Pawlowski, Graciela Quintana

Minnesota Intellectual Property Law Association (MIPLA) Award: Hannah Mosby

Minnesota Justice Foundation (MJF) Outstanding Service Award—Law Volunteer: Dr. Susan Elaine Craig

Minnesota Law Review Volumes 35 & 36 Memorial Award for Excellence in Writing: R. David Hahn, Lesley Roe, Derek Waller

Minnesota State Bar Association Excellence in Labor & Employment Law Awards:

  • Employment Law Recipient: Emily McAdam
  • Labor Law Recipient: Hadley Simonett

Minnesota Women Lawyers Equal Justice Award: Alicia Granse, Rebecca A. Rosefelt

Robina Public Interest Scholars: Christopher Conway, Joshua Lee Davis, Kelsey Friberg, Nathaniel Gier, Sophie Gotlieb, Alicia Granse, Breanna M. Helland, Kayla Hoel, Melanie A. Johnson, Allison Mrakovich, Tiffany Ogolikhina, Lesley Roe, Abby Swanson Garney, Julia Wolfe

Stinson Leonard Street Law Review Award: Joshua M. Greenberg, Torie Abbott Watkins, Julia Wolfe

Target Corporation Diversity in Law Scholarship: Li Xu

Kent Wennerstrom Award: Lauren Fleming


Cooper Fellowship: Fatjon Kaja, Emma Jihyeon Song

Benjamin B. Ferencz Fellowship: Abigail Hencheck, Nicole Georgette Ros Marling

Human Rights Center Fellowships: Paul Dimick, Natacha Carolina Garcia Ferreiro, Nathaniel Gier, Abigail Hencheck, Alexander Kane, Toni Mofoluwaniyin Ojoyeyi, Emily Ortlieb Ricciardi, Alanna N. Pawlowski, Rebecca A. Rosefelt, Nora Steinhagen, Molly Annette Knoles Whitley, Lara Siân Williams, Broktawit Buettner Wubeshet

Robina Summer Public Interest Fellowships: Bess Ann Boever, Joshua M. Greenberg, Sammi Nachtigal, Alanna N. Pawlowski, Henry Rymer, Zachariah Sibley, Nora Steinhagen, Ian Wesley Taylor, Jr.

Saeks Fellowship—Minnesota Law Public Interest Residency Program: Bess Ann Boever, Kelsey Friberg, Abigail Hencheck

Justice John Paul Stevens Fellowship: Jakob Brecheisen, Kalyssa Meilyn Maile, Caroline Schmitz

Professional Essentials Milestone

  • Evan G. Brown
  • Kevin Cunningham
  • Robby Dube
  • Alexa Ely
  • Alex Eschenroeder
  • Mariah Claire Gatzow
  • Sophie Gotlieb
  • Isak Hawkinson
  • Ellen E. Hunt
  • Fatjon Kaja
  • Kalyssa Meilyn Maile
  • Matthew D. McCord
  • Sammi Nachtigal
  • Kelly Nizzari
  • Amber M. Peterson
  • Torie Abbott Watkins
Class of 2019 award recipients on Stein Plaza
Class of 2019 award recipients on Stein Plaza

Contact Information

University of Minnesota Law School

Walter F. Mondale Hall | 229 19th Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-625-5000

Email Us

Connect on Social Media